Book reviews

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming,beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend

I HIGHLY recommend this book. You will enjoy every word and sentence of it.
My rating is 98%

What I love about this book?
EVERYTHING
What I don’t like about this book?
NOTHING

SPOILERS

This book has everything from the gorgeous setting to the lovable characters.
Paris is drop dead beautiful from the way Perkins describes it; the food, the culture, their appreciation for anything artistic. Reading it made me ache to visit Paris. Perkins has successfully created an amazing story midst the City of Light.
I would’ve like this book to never end. Just a book all about after this book, their relationship, EVERYTHING!

Each character is unique and real.
Anna experiences the worries of all teenagers. I love her narration of her story, her reactions and thoughts are humorous and something we all understand. Her romance with Etienne is perfectly paced. I admire the way Anna became his friend, his best friend, a person he could rely on, he could hang out and talk with. I love their easy going friendship, the friendly bickering and shoving and teasing that made us fall in love with their relationship. And the way it unfolded into something deeper was VERY cute. This whole book made me swoon. Etienne, for one is drop dead gorgeous; mussed, brown hair, big brown doe eyes.
Who can’t fall for him?
Who can’t fall for his British accent, European gestures and the way he talks?
I think everyone who has read this book, is head over heels in love with him because I know I am. Every time I re-read it, I’m praying and begging: I pray my husband is like him!

Their friendship circle which consists of Meredith, Etienne, Anna, Josh and Rashmi is the best. Their friendly conversations and Josh and Etienne’s bromance sent me laughing with tears in my eyes. They were all so easy going and tight-knit. Each character have a special relationship with each other. The girls trust each other and the boys are well, you know. Etienne’s understanding of Meredith’s hurt feelings after the kiss was sweet. He realised from what Toph did to Anna, he couldn’t do to Meredith.

Let’s talk about the scene where everything is resolved. Where their love is requited and everything is alright. He said “I love you”, “I’m sorry” and she said it back. And all this happened on top of Notre Dame in Paris. IN PARIS.
Can we ask for anything better?
That was the major swoon scene. When I finished reading it, I was dancing around in my room; they’re together!
It was  very well written. There are a lot of books where the boy admits their love but the girl doesn’t say “I love you” back and that always irritates me. In this case, she did and that made me VERY happy.

Leave a Reply

