Book reviews

The Intern by Gabrielle Tozer

Josie Browning dreams of having it all.
A stellar academic record, an amazing career in journalism – and for her current crush to realise she actually exists. The only problem? Josie can’t get through twenty-four hours without embarrassing her sister Kat or her best friend Angel, let alone herself.
Josie’s luck changes though when she lands an internship at the glossy fashion magazine Sash. A coveted columnist job is up for grabs, but Josie’s got some tough competition in the form of two other interns. Battle lines are drawn and Josie quickly learns that the magazine industry is far from easy, especially under the reign of powerful editor, Rae Swanson.
From the lows of coffee-fetching and working 10-hour days, to the highs of mingling with celebrities, scoring endless free beauty products (plus falling for her cousin’s seriously gorgeous flatmate James) this is one year Josie will never forget.

My rating: 90%

So I got this book at the HarperCollins Between the Covers YA fan event. I bought this book, Gabrielle Tozer was there and SHE SIGNED MY BOOK. I’ll post another post all about this event, I just have to upload the pictures.
I told her I wanted to be a novelist and change the world and she told me to follow my dreams and her little note in the book was so sweet!
You guys will get pictures soon, I just have to remember to charge my phone.

SPOILERS

This book was hilarious.
Firstly, I think Josie has anxiety problems because she over thinks EVERYTHING which is why this book is so funny! Reading this book, I finally found a character who was a lot like me. Like her, I wanted a perfect future, perfect grades to get into a perfect uni (Harvard or Berkeley) and a perfect job in anything that has to do with writing, law, journalism and business. I found that I also over think everything like her. I comprehend people’s actions in different ways and also like her, I like a guy whose with a girl and yes, sometimes it hurts. But I wasn’t like Jose in the way that she’s pretty. She doesn’t know it but the magazine world enhanced her natural looks. Me? That would NEVER happen.

Back to the book, at hand. This book was a short entertaining read that consisted of a hilarious overachiever, a total hottie and the textbook personalities of a strict boss, a spoilt, mean, popular brat and a care-free best-friend. All this combined in a short book, filled with drama, page after page kept me staying up late (especially since I should’ve been resting from a whole weekend of Duke of Ed).
James is indeed HOT! Who can’t resist brown, shaggy, curly hair and a funny, caring, cute sort of guy. He was the sweetest! I would’ve liked more from him. More scenes with him so that we could get to know his character more. Because this book was so short; I felt that some of the scenes could have been longer and other scenes replaced with more relevant ones. I wanted more cutesy scene with James (who doesn’t).
The scene where Josie is writing for the local newspaper is a scene that I wanted more from. I wanted to read more of the words pouring from her mind into the article, itself. From the book, all we really know that the article is fantastic and that it’s about body image. There are A LOT of body image articles out there and I would’ve like a more detailed description of that article. From the books, we also know that she is a fantastic writer, from that, I also would’ve liked a snippet of her writing, at least.

Back to the pros, I think Josie handled her guy troubles pretty well. We got not one but TWO bitch slaps from her to not one but TWO jerk guys and one of them is a rock star and it takes guts to slap a rock star. I think that the way she stood up for herself to achieve her ambitions was admirable.

We got a good ending. I want a longer book but since I known a sequel is coming out: Faking it, I AM HAPPY!
She got the guy, she got a job, she got the city. The next book,I hope will have more romance!

One thought on “The Intern by Gabrielle Tozer

Leave a Reply

