Book reviews

Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.
Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

There is no other word to describe this book except for beautiful. Not just beautiful but, beautiful.
It delves into the reasons that would drive a person to take their own life. It talks about cause and effect, abortion, forgiving yourself, forgiving others and ultimately, living life.
I HIGHLY recommend this book to the point where I will give it:
100%

SPOILERS

What astounded me about this book was the narration. It is narrated from the perspective of Liz’s childhood imaginary friend as she watches the events unfold from Liz’s accident and before it, as well. It’s very original and refreshing and I have never come across an author who has done this. This narrator talks about her letting go of childhood and therefore also letting go off her, the imaginary friend. And it made me sad and melancholic about my own childhood.

Liz Emerson is a stuffed up person. I am not afraid to say it. I’m not going to cover it up by saying everyone deserves forgiveness, though everyone does, but it is a fact: Liz Emerson is a truly messed up girl.
She goes to parties, drowns her sorrows with any type of alcohol she can get in her hands, she grabs random guys to make her feel loved and she’ll vomit out all the food out of her stomach to look beautiful. But all these things are side effects of the root problem.
The root problem is that she cannot get out of the hole she has dug herself into. She has individually stuffed up about 50 people’s lives. Some which include:
One best friend, Julia by starting her up with drugs.
Another, Kennie by pushing her to get an abortion.
And a guy who has done nothing but be nice, she has humiliated in front everyone in a 100 mile radius.
So we all know, she is a MESSED UP GIRL

But beside this, she uses Newton’s Laws (even though she doesn’t understand it) to commit suicide because she has decided that she does not deserve the world and vica versa. The book goes through snapshots of her childhood, what her her mum, Julia, Kennie and Liam are thinking during her surgeries and the amount of days or minutes before she swerves her car into death. We can argue that because she was such a mean person, that the world is a better place without her but this book is so honest when it comes to forgiveness. It makes us realise (or fully understand) that it takes SO MUCH effort to love and forgive yourself. There are many books out there about issues like these, suicide, depression, high school, etc but this one really hit home.

The friendship between Liz, Julia and Kennie was a strange one. Their friendship was strong, no doubt about that. they loved each other, they relied on each other, they are inseparable but it seemed that Liz messed both of them up. It’s not something a true friend would do, give your friend drugs, push your friend to kill her baby but somehow, their friendship was still there. I’m not sure how to describe it but if you’re here, it means you’ve read it and you understand.
Abortion. Let’s discuss that.
Me, myself, I am pro-life. I do not believe in Abortion. I believe it’s wrong because it is the plain killing of an innocent. I cried when it came to the chapters about Kennie’s baby. She talks about the wonder of life inside her, an innocent child she would bring into this world and when it came for her to get rid of him/her (babies should NOT be called “it”), all she can do is think about it. Think about baby shopping, seeing a perfect, innocent face in her arms and the child that will no longer be brought into this world. I cannot describe how many tears I shedded. I think that was the worst thing in the book that Julia did. In exact words she says, “You have to get rid of it”.
It, like its a bug you can just step on when it bothers you. It, like something impractical that will just get in the way.
This is a child, we are talking about and no matter what scientific words, scientists give to it to objectify it, it is still life. 
It’s just . . .it’s just . . .it’s wrong.

All throughout this book, I was preparing myself for her death. I had this gut feeling that Liz would die, I just did. So I was preparing myself: ‘it’s okay, it’s okay’. But that last line! She’s alive! I was ecstatic because not only is she alive but because she had that chance to turn her life around. And it made very single character in the book realise their hypocrisy and cruelty and superficiality.

I am going to quickly say how much I love Liam. His integrity, his honesty, his kindness and his optimism. He always sees the beauty in a stuffed up world and I truly admired that.

So now, you get the point.
THIS BOOK WAS GOOD. GOOD in extra capital letters and italics.

Advertisements

One thought on “Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s