Book reviews

The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder

Campbell Cooper has never been in love. And if the doctors are right, she’ll never have the chance. So when she’s told she needs a miracle, her family moves 1,500 miles north to Promise, Maine–a place where amazing, unexplainable events are said to occur–like it or not. And when a mysterious envelope arrives, containing a list of things for Cam to do before she dies, she finally learns to believe–in love, in herself, and maybe even in miracles, as improbable as they may seem.

This book is one big hmmm . . .
This book was like one huge repeated Fault in Our Stars. Hazel and the protagonist on this book (Cam) have the same cynical and sarcastic attitude and they both have the same line of thoughts. They even talk abut infinity the same way. Now honestly, I don’t know who copied who because this book was published late 2011 and TFioS was published in early 2012. I can’t really judge who plagiarized, both authors probably had the same idea and put pen to paper without realising they both has almost the exact same story.
As I said, one big hmmm …

The story itself is good. Good in the way where it isn’t great and hooking but more like an easy read. I feel that a book about cancer should be more deeper, though. I wasn’t able to connect to the character, I felt her indifference put me off. The love interest is shallow, there wasn’t enough time spent in developing the romantic relationship and the ending was unsatisfying.But it is still an entertaining reading and at times, quite humorous.

My rating: 80%

Spoilers

I don’t like Cam.
Sorry, I just don’t.
She is one of those people who will deflate anyone whose happy or hopeful. One hint of any joy from her mother or her sister, she will immediately look down upon or make some sarcastic, demoralising comment. I understand that she has come to terms with her cancer and has accepted her fate but it doesn’t mean that she can destroy everyone else’s future as well. This is why I don’t like her.
She says in the books that she practically has cancer everywhere in her body. I feel as if, realistically that a person with cancer all over her body would not have the energy to do what Cam does. Cam steals a donkey and covers it in flour to make it into a unicorn, she spends the whole night, planting tomatoes on the front lawn (can you imagine the amount of squatting she would have to do) and she walks up and down the beach and can dance effortlessly (Hawaiian way. That’s
A LOT of hip movement). Can ill people do this? I don’t think so.

A novel about cancer such as this one should have been deeper. I should have connected to that lost prospect which is her future or her willingness to push people away to avoid hurting them. I felt a lack of emotion in this book. The only emotional part was when Lily died. I felt that punch, man. The only person I related to in the book was Lily, she was hopeful and cheerful during her pain (and this is true) and when she passed, I hoped that Cam would learn.
She kind of did.
She opened herself to the possibility of hope only when she got a guy.
Is it just me or is that idea just sexist and objectifying.
We can hope that things will get better only when we get a boyfriend/girlfriend. Isn’t it anytime?

Anyway, lets talk about Asher and all that rom-com stuff.
Asher was shallow. Maybe he actually isn’t but I wanted more depth to him. There wasn’t enough character insight and development on him. He and Cam didn’t have that easy talk or deep and meaningful conversations that you look for in a book with romance. Their relationship just didn’t have it. 
They had sex and honestly, it seemed as if Cam had sex because she wanted to feel it before she died. I honestly, think that also demoralises sex which is actually supposed to be an act of love. It felt as if their whole relationship was sneaky tricks and sex. No talking, no getting to know each other.
Think about it, how much do they actually know about each other by the end of the book.
Not that much.
In the beginning, Cam goes to that beach party and let’s this random French guy drag her away for the sake of it because (a) she’s going to die and she might as well do it so she doesn’t die a virgin.
That is pathetic.

The ending wasn’t satisfactory.
I was expecting her to die and she did but not in that emotional way.
People argue that death is quiet thing but to people closest to you, I know it isn’t.
I felt that it was rushed and stopped very short.

That’s all I have to say.
I know, this was a really harsh review and if you read it and liked it; well, I don’t mind. It’s your opinion.
This book was still good, I liked her Samoan background and the idea of growing up around Disney. I mean, who doesn’t like that. That is just awesome!

2 thoughts on “The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder

  1. I need help. I am writing a Novel Concept for my English 1 class over The Probability of Miracles. I have to come up with actors who I think would suit the role of Cam, Alicia, Perry, Asher, Elanie, Lily, and Nana. I have no idea who would be good to play those roles. Do you have any idea who would suit their personalities? If you have any idea I would love to know who you think would be best! Thank you!

    Like

    1. Hi,
      Thanks! I would love to help you.
      My cast would be:
      Cam: Emma Roberts
      Asher: Jake Abel
      Alicia: Julia Roberts
      Perry: Maggie Elizabeth Jones
      Lily: Saoirse Ronan
      Nana: Meryl Streep
      Elaine: Diane Lane
      That’s who I would cast.
      My friends helped me with this. Thank them too 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

