Book reviews

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

After I finished the 1st book’s review, people have been telling me to get cracking on the second (thank you infinityreads and ajoobacats), and I hope you’re proud of me ’cause I did! I finished it and it was awesome!

This isn’t the type of book that you pour through and finish in a day or two. It is a very patient book, it requires a lot of concentration, so I read this book over a week and by reading it this way, I got the full impact of it. There’s a lot of character development and because there are so many things that happen after and after, you really have to slow down, breath and read.
It is a great book. It’s well written and I was so proud by how Riggs developed Jacob and Emma’s relationship, it was genuine and innocent and just, beautiful.
It is definitely better than the first.

My rating: 94%

Spoilers

Can I start off the spoilers section by saying:
WHAT?!
After everything, Miss Peregrine is still caught. The bird they thought to be her was actually a wight. I was about to die when read about that. I was angry and just full of so much dread. 10 of the most adorable, honest and kind children in the world, being hunted by the most horrible, blood-thirsty, psychopathic monsters; it broke my heart.
I loved the children’s protective and loving relationship between each other, especially Bronwyn. She is such a mother bird, always looking after Olive and the little ones, she’s such a sweetheart! They ran around pretty much the whole of England and time just to find some sort of safe haven or news about saving Miss Peregrine (who actually isn’t Miss Peregrine, urgh!) And now, they’re all captured my murderous people.

So we have found out that the wights and hollows have discovered away to steal the second soul of peculiars (their power) and give it to themselves, leaving pecuiliars like blubbering idiots. I did suspect this from the beginning when Milliard mentioned that because wights can now enter loops,the only explanation is that, they have evolved. My (and Milliard’s) theory ended up to be correct. This was devastating since their species was already threatened, this just added to all the fuss and complications. I honestly have no idea how they’re going to be defeated in the next book.

The romance bit (yay!)
It was just beautiful.
They’re both 15 (not really for Emma) and because of that, their romance had that air of innocence and beauty to it. They genuinely loved each other and when Emma urged him to go back home, I couldn’t help feeling the same protectiveness that she felt. I was still happy that he didn’t leave because they have both survived and the rest of the kids have been kidnapped and they save them, stuff like that.
I was touched by Jacob’s phone call to his dad that he needs to finish off his troubles before going home.
Oh! and when Jacob confesses his love, I was giddy with joy!

“I was too dazed to follow right away, because there was something new happening, a wheel inside my heart I’d never noticed before, and it was spinning so fast it made me dizzy. And the farther away she got, the faster it spun, like there was an invisible cord unreeling from it that stretched between us, and if she went too far it would snap – and kill me. I wondered if this strange, sweet pain was love.”

“I wanted to thank you,” I said.
She wrinkled her nose and squinted like I’d said something funny. “Thank me for what?” she said.
“You give me strength I didn’t know I had,”; I said. “You make me better.”

This book soared above my expectations with it’s well written plot and original idea and superb character relationships and developments!

2 thoughts on “Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

  1. Yes, the first book definitely makes you want to pick up the second right away! And the wonderful world-building does beg you to read it slowly (although the suspense orders you to do otherwise) – I love books like that, stories that are so good that you want to stay in their world for as long as possible.

    I nodded through your spoilers section – it seemed like NOTHING could go right in this book. The romance was a bit weird thanks to the awkward age difference, but that just made it all the more interesting.

    I just stumbled upon your site through Bloggers Commenting Back, and I’m so happy to see we feel the same way about this series. I need the the third installment ASAP.

    Like

Leave a Reply

