Book reviews

BOOK REVIEW: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancy

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.
Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.
Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Talk about an intense dystopian world with even more intense characters.
This book is very sci-fi, it involves aliens and survival and the struggle with both. This has been on my TBR for a long time. I finally got to it, so many people have been raving on it on Goodreads and on the blogs I follow. I was not let down.
This is a book that you have to be in the mood for. It is a very dark type of apocalyptic novel, the very book feels like there is no hope whatsoever for humanity. If you need a happy pill, DO NOT READ THIS BOOK. It won’t end well for you. But dystopian fans come and rave. It’s awesome! I can compare this book to the Host except the aliens are not peaceful. I repeat, NOT peaceful. They are mean, violent pieces of junk. Cassie, the heroine is kickass and slightly annoying at times but you understand the circumstances that she is in. Be warned that at beginning you may confused as I did in the first 50 pages but keep calm and keep going!

My rating:
5 STARS (2)
4.5 Stars

Spoilers

Where do I start with a book like this?
Lets start with a simple gif to sum up my feels….

Yup.

Those aliens are mean, green fighting machines. Well, they’re not green but they are mean. Let’s start with the way they mercilessly killed Cassie’s dad. That was horrifying and definitely a scarring event for his 16 yr old daughter. Then they kidnapped all the children, manipulated them into feeling safe and secure then turned them into child soldiers who think they’re killing the Ebola infected but are in fact, normal humans. WTH!!! Well, we find out that’s the 5th Wave. Sheesh, I told you . . .intense. The Earth’s population has gone from 7 billion to less than 4. As I said before, there seems like there is no hope for humanity to get their home back from these aliens who have ridiculously advanced technology like the Wonderland. That machine gave me chills. The aliens want Earth as their home and are wiping out the humans so that they can make way for themselves. That whole downloading themselves into humans was cool and weird at the same time. Your dad or your sister of you boyfriend could be half Other but you wouldn’t even realise. Reminded me a lot of The Host.

Cassie is one of those characters with serious trust issues. Well, if you were her near the end of the world with only one rule: every man for himself, you would too but it took so much time for her to realise that she had to trust Evan. *Sigh* Evan. He’s the gentle, overprotective, not bad lookin’ guy whom no girl can’t help but fall for. I knew that he was the Silencer. That little POV, we get of him – the Silencer – talking about how he just couldn’t kill her, gave it away for me. I just knew. Cassie kept going on and on about how she had lost “her Evan” the farm boy, blah, blah. I was annoyed at her during this. If only she had taken a step back and realised that he helped with no benefits promised to him, then they could’ve got along better.

I don’t know why but I felt as if I couldn’t connect with Ben. To me, he was just a character. Who I did connect with was Ringer. That girl is awesome and bad-ass. She’s a bit like Isabelle Lightwood but without the whip. Someone get that girl a whip! I love her logic and the way she can calmly assess a situation and come to a logical conclusion. It is because of her, that we find out that the whole camp thing was a scam and only, a way to use the kids as weapons. GO GIRL! I am hoping to see a lot of her in The Infinite Sea which is waiting for me on my dresser.

We end the book with Sammy saved and him, Cassie, Ben and his squad in a truck going off into the distance to safety. Evan has gone to blow up the camp and he is successful but we don’t where he is. I cannot wait till he comes back in Infinite Sea. I pray nothing has happened to him. Please, Yancy. I don’t know what to expect from book no.2. But I am excited to find out!

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancy

  1. Ooh, this is another book I really need to read. Especially as a movie is going to be made in 2016 and I want to be able to see it instantly! I love the idea of it. I just wish your reviews didn’t have so many spoilers included so that I could read them all the way through :3

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

