Book reviews

BOOK REVIEW: Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

Source: Bought

Britt Phieffer has never been that adventurous, but that’s about to change. Wanting to impress her ex-boyfriend, Britt convinces best friend, Korbie, to take a trip with her and go trekking through the Grand Teton Mountains in Wyoming.
But when a freak storm leaves the girls stranded they seek shelter in a cabin, and find two knights in shining armour, Shaun and Mason, who are also hiding out.
But all is not as it seems, and Britt quickly discovers that the guys are there for reasons other than hiking…dangerous reasons that mean they need to get off the mountain, fast. In exchange for her life, Britt is forced to guide them down, and as they set out on a harrowing journey through the cold and snow, Britt realises the only way to get out of this alive is to pretend she is on their side.
But playing nice is hard, especially when Britt is unsure whether Mason, gorgeous and sexy, is the enemy or an ally. And as she begins to lose track of who is in control it is only a matter of time before things turn deadly…
My rating:
red3
I strangely found this book hilarious. It was entertaining and the story was interesting but everything was just so dumb. Britt, the main character was annoying and frustrating and there wasn’t a time in the story where I didn’t want to shake some sense into her empty cranium. Actually, there weren’t any likeable characters in this story. Woah, *mind blown*. Mason is irritating because I just found him to be. He had this “I’m dangerous” facade and it was annoying because it seemed to charm the wits out of Britt. Calvin is the arrogant player (my pet peeve) so I don’t like him. Korbie is an annoying, spoilt brat and everyone else fades into oblivion. Don’t get me wrong, this book took me 4 hours to read because there was a mystery that I really wanted to be uncovered, no matter how predictable it was. I figured out everything at the very beginning. The answer seemed to be obvious for me, the reader than the characters actually in the mystery. But the book was interesting; the interesting sort of way like when everyone got swept away reading the Twilight Saga then realised how stupid it was (I was not one of them. Never read them, don’t plan to).
There was just endless snow throughout this whole book. Trekking through snow, finding a cabin, something goes wrong, rinse, repeat. The plot seemed to repeat itself. The snow and cabin formula happened about three time before we got to witness the real action. The whole escapade scene at Idlewilde was good. I’m tempted to say even great! That section was action packed and the only time Britt used her blonde brain.
So in a nutshell; what did I think of this book in a non-spoiler way? It was entertaining yet annoying. I neither disliked it or loved it. If you loved Hush Hush, then you’ll definitely love this one.
Spoilers
I knew it!!!! I knew Calvin was the killer. Just his whole significance in the book, automatically made him suspicious. Like I said, I didn’t like any of the characters in this book except for Caz at the very end who we only got to know for about 20 pages. She’s Aussie and chill; of course I like her.
The romance was alright, I guess. That whole scene when Britt is arguing with herself after the made out with Mason (Jude) was so annoying. Her logic did not make sense. She kept making excuses that she was dizzy and drunk from the moonshine but if she thought a bit harder with her blonde head, she would realise that she remembers the whole event. If she remembers it then she was definitely not drunk. SO ANNOYING! and SO DUMB! Britt was kind of a typical blonde. She thinks she’s smart but no, she definitely isn’t.
I’m just going to end this short review with talking about the last scene. So cliche, I laughed out loud. I can vividly imagine them running to each other, on the beach, in slow mo with dramatic music in the background. It’s in almost every chick-flick movie. *slams head on table* Normally, I’m a sucker for cliches but this one was too much, way too much.
There you go! It was a short review but this book required one.
Signature
4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

  1. Thanks for your review. I received a free copy, but haven’t read it yet. I have another book by the same author, Hush Hush, but I just didn’t like it when I read it. I didn’t even bother finishing it. I’ll probably give this book a go and see for myself whether I like it, but just from what you’ve written, I don’t know how likely that is.
    I appreciate your honesty! Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, this is a book where I didn’t see the most positive reviews for. Sometimes when a book is bad I generally find it funny as well 😀 I hope you like your next book more. I haven’t read anything by Becca, but I think I will start with her Hush, Hush series instead.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

