Book reviews

BOOK REVIEW: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkins.

 Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital  with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that  killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in  love.
She’s wrong.

Source: Simon and Schuster Publishing (THANK YOU, it finally arrived)
456 Pages

My rating

purple5

Oh my freaking gosh! My heart is pounding, my mind is swirling and I am completely and utterly stunned. Wow, just wow. So as you can see I love this book! It blew me away; the characters, the plot, the twist, the writing, it was all done outstandingly well by Michelle Hodkins.

So let’s start with Mara. She’s just been an accident, she’s survived but her boyfriend and two friends unfortunately didn’t. She’s lost and numb so she asks her mother if their family can move because she feels that she needs a fresh start. Boom! They do to Florida and there, all sort of messed up things happen which I will not discuss because I am a nice person who will not spoil you.

Mara is a character who I neither liked or disliked but I do predict that I will end up pulling out my hair in the future books. I loved this book mainly for the plot and writing rather than the characters. Mara was fine at the beginning, broken and sad which I understood. After all she had lost and gone through, I was pretty chill with her attitude. I enjoyed her wit, banter and magnificent drawing skills. I totally envy her artist streak. Towards the ends, she turned into an Insurgent-Tris. You understand what I’m saying, she starts to pull away in the name of “protecting him”. She makes up excuses and whines that he will die by her side. This sort of attitude always annoys me! That sort of thing doesn’t do anything good!

Noah is a typical love interest. He’s the bad boy with the bad reputation but has a sensitive side. At the beginning, I didn’t like him all that much. He seemed too much of a stalker. Her was a little flirty while following Mara around at school. Stalker, much.
Even if he is super, duper, out-of-this-world-it-cannot-be-realistic hot, doesn’t anyone realise that a person’s looks can change with their personality. Like no matter how good looking a mean girl is, she always seem ugly because of how mean and bitchy she is. Same goes for the hotties. Stalker actions would be enough for me to be put off.
But of course, things happen and he ends up to be calmer, kinder, sensitive; you know, all the perfect guy traits. And then, I couldn’t help liking him. Damn.

The story line was the highlight for me in this book. I was more interested with the secret behind her accident more than the sweep-me-off-my-feet romance. The plot was great! There were these obvious hints scattered along the book which I quickly pieced together but I overlooked the cheeky little clues that Hodkins added here and there. I didn’t realise them until the massive plot twist hit me in the face.

Her writing style and pace is amazing. It’s suspenseful yet patient. It draws you in from the very beginning and literally pulls you in for the rise. Guys, I read this book in 6 hours straight. It was that good! I had to take a break for pasta. If I ever skip pasta for a book, you know it’s magnificent. But the scent of freshly cooked linguine was calling to me as I read this book.

You have to get in this bandwagon if you haven’t already. I am so happy I jumped on. At first, I was hesitant but now, I have my head hanging out of the window with my tongue out like a crazy dog. That’s how much I enjoyed this book. A very promising first book.

Disclaimer: My reviews are completely honest no matter if the book has been provided by the publisher, author or purely bought.

Signature

5 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkins.

  1. This is a book that I have had on my TBR for ages and really I cannot wait to begin! Knowing you love it makes me all the more eager! And I see that you marathoned the whole series as well 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

