Book reviews

BOOK REVIEW: The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #2) by Michelle Hodkins

 Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past.
 She can’t.

She used to think her problems were all in her head.
 They aren’t.

She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been through, the boy she  loves would still be keeping secrets.
 She’s wrong.

In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves  and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next?

Source: Simon and Schuster Publishing (thank you so much!!!)
528 pages

My Rating

red4

***SPOILER REVIEW***

I’m pretty much like this:

Before I coherently review, may I please just say:
IS NOAH DEAD?!
He can’t be! *pant* I don’t believe it! *pant* He can’t have *pant*
NO!!! He will be alive, again!!! He’s NOT dead.
NO ONE spoil it for me!!!! DON’T YOU EVEN DARE!!!

Time for coherence.

So I’m shocked at the sudden twist. I am also disgusted, anxious and very, very angry. I enjoyed this book very much. It was so much more intense and heart pounding. It was filled with so many questions that need answering and in the end we kind of got a half answer, leaving the other half for the next book. Thanks Hodkin.
But I liked the first book better because it was much more light-hearted and filled with good times. This book was very much more darker and haunting. The kind that doesn’t leave you and keep you thinking and thinking for the whole night. I literally only got only two hours sleep.

It turns out Dr Kells was part of all this, testing all these kids including Jude, Jamie, Mara and Noah because they have this “gene” that gives kids powers like the ones Mara and Noah have. Kells is a bitch. Let’s hope she dies for making Mara seem like an insane, crazy person. It was extremely frustrating that everyone thought she was crazy and didn’t believe her. It was Cassandra the Oracle all over again. She was freaking institutionlized when she was RIGHT! Evil Jude IS ALIVE!

Mara was annoying in this book. She constantly called Noah for every single trouble and she would just wait and expect him to come to her rescue and reassure her self doubts. As you can probable notice, I did not like this at all. I despise it. She was emotionally weak and brittle. She had enormous self-doubt, she was easily swayed and gullible as Noah points out and she was very clingy. I really hope that in the next book, she experiences some sort of character development so that she can stand on her own two feet. Also, the black outs just got increasingly annoying and frustrating. They were not helping her at all! They just made her wake up in a strange and dangerous place, Not cool, at all.

Jude is no. 1 on my list of the most creepiest book characters. He sneaks into her room and takes pictures of her sleeping. He leaves stalker notes in her bag and he always knows where she is. Definitely, the most scariest and creepiest person. I really want him to die! Is he dead? I hope he’s dead.
And that Phoebe chick. She intense and scares the beejees out of me. They do not make a good couple. I can imagine both of them on some sort of psychotic killing spree. Not a good combination.

The writing and plot was great and suspenseful as ever. It built up so much for the end. Finding the tapes on Kell’s computer, the doll, the silver necklaces, the photo. There were so many clues and we got half and answer at the end. I’m totally looking forward to The Retribution for a full answer. I love her writing. It oddly reminds me of Hitchcock films. Same sort of atmosphere and style.

As you can see, I’m am enjoying this bandwagon. I am suffering but I’m happy for it. I am so anxious for the next book which is winking at me at the moment, right next to me.
I want Noah alive and with Mara. I want Mara to grow out of her dependence and fight her battles. I want Kells and Jude dead and that institution burnt to smithereens. I want Jamie back and kicking, everything to be cleared and for her family to understand and believe her.
Is that too much to ask?

Signature

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #2) by Michelle Hodkins

  1. I definitely had to skim through your review because I haven’t started this series yet. And then I saw the ‘death’ and was like NOOOO, but then I remembered that I don’t even know who he is haha. It’s always great when a character has such a hue impact on the reader, that just highlights how great a series is. So glad to see you loved this Faith, I guess I need to get on board with the series already!

    Like

Leave a Reply

