Book reviews

BOOK REVIEW: The Retribution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #3) by Michelle Hodkins

 Mara Dyer wants to believe there’s more to the lies she’s been told.
 There is.

She doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
 She should.

She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
 She will now.

Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide  in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story.

Retribution has arrived.

Source: Simon and Schuster (How many times should I say thank you?!)
470 pages

My Rating:

green3

**SPOILER REVIEW**

So this series began fantastically, the plot line was jam packed and amazingly well done. Hodkins did well there but from there, it slowly and slightly went downward. I was disappointed at the ending and it really didn’t satisfy me. After such a long and intense journey the ending was like a whole big: oh.

I still enjoyed this book but the ending for me was ridiculously unrealistic. Don’t get me wrong, I love my happy endings but they only work when they’re done well. Let’s recap on it; Mara dies then soon, Noah dies from a knife to his chest. Mara then miraculously resurrects to find Noah, her true love dead. Sound familiar? For the record, I detest Romeo and Juliet.
Wait. No, wait a minute. Then Noah comes back to life. It was the resurrection aspect that irked me. Mara dies, Noah dies. Mara wakes up, Noah wakes up. Cue aftermath and happy ending. That would never happen.
Everything about the ending was unrealistic. I still wanted Mara and Noah together but I wanted something much more believable. This way I would be able to be properly satisfied with the end. I would be able to feel good that we properly slayed the dragon. If the resurrections remained, I still wanted a more practical and sensible reason behind them.

The last whole couple chapters with Noah’s dad and Jude was scary. I kind of imagined the place like in that episode of Sherlock where Watson and his girlfriend are kidnapped by those crazy Chinese art smugglers in that abandoned train wreck place. I imagined Mara held in a place like that.
I really despised how Noah’s dad was so bent on the archetypes that Mara and Noah were born in. That they had no choice in what they would become. No matter what they did, their fate would not change and would ultimately drive them apart. That was utter bull crap. They could easily live with each other and ignore their powers.

Those last battle chapters, I found were slightly rushed and not properly set up. I still really enjoyed them but at times, I had found that I had re-read parts because they had been rushed through and didn’t completely make sense.

I do have to admit that Mara was better in this book. Not much but better. She actually used her brain and I enjoyed the chapters of her, Jamie and Stella on the run. It allowed her to think and do rather than leaving the thinking and doing to Noah. I didn’t mind Mara and Noah’s separation during the majority of the book. You know when during series, there is always that book where the couple are apart fora period of time and during that time, you’re just so frustrated for that couple to be reunited? In this book, I didn’t feel that at all. I was okay with it.
But throughout this whole series, Mara’s character development was very poor. She goes from a heartbroken teen who experienced huge loss to a helpless and whiny girl. From that, she just becomes a cold hearted person who has a killed list, a mile long. Her character just fell through each book. Perhaps, she’s become a better person with Noah now.

I was super happy with the trio’s (Mara, Jamie and Stella) chase across America. Those parts were actually my favourite. I enjoy fugitive stuff. Jamie’s ability came in handy.

Hodkins always does really well with her writing. It’s precise, visual and drawing. She’s a great chapter ender. She’ll build suspense through new information or realizations then BOOM the chapter will end. Michelle is fantastic at this! Her plots are always so complex, original and interesting. Even if I disliked the main character, it didn’t stop me from being hooked at the story, itself.

There you go! I don’t regret waiting for the whole trilogy to come out so that I could marathon it, allowing me to remember all the important details. So I did love this series. The first book was definitely the best one. I really loved it! I don’t know if Hodkins is planning any other books. I really hope she is because she’s such a promising author. Someone tell me if she is.

Signature

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Retribution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #3) by Michelle Hodkins

  1. Hmm…I’m not sure if I will continue this series. Unfortunately I couldn’t read the review because I’ve only read the first one 😦 I thought the first book was good, but not great. I’m a bit divided about continuing even though I’ve mostly heard that the second book is better than the first. Even the covers of these books are creepy 🙂

    Like

    1. I would highly recommend the rest of the series!!! The plot and writing is definitely enough to keep going. There are so many twists and turns. It was mostly the characters and the ending that let me down.

      Like

Leave a Reply

