Discussions

La La Land

I am constantly daydreaming about everything and anything.

WARNING: This GIF may hurt your eyes.

Just today, I was daydreaming in French about jumping out of the window and coming up with as many situations about how I could fly away. I came up with the following:

a) Jumping out, yelling “see ya later, sucker!” and landing on the eagles from The Hobbit.

b) Jumping out and grabbing onto the handle of the Tardis, just in time and saluting everybody in class. The Doctor would poke his beautiful head out of the door and cock his head, very impressed with my escape.

c) Jumping out and flying out, Peter Pan style thinking of eating fish and chips because that was what I was craving.

d) Jumping out and magically landing the in any of Sarah J Maas’ fantasy world. 

As you can see, I am proudly a daydreamer.

The question I pose though is: Does making us a daydreamer, make us also a person who overlooks reality?

There are times, when I hate reality. Mostly when I just want to live in any my books. I mean, we all do. Us readers, fangirls and bloggers would do anything to become a book character and have the adventures they have. But I know that still, I need to keep my head and straight and make the most of reality, itself because if I lose myself to my head, what would I have done with my life? Or the people I love?

Daydreaming is the illogical, wishing part of us. The hands that reach out of real life and try to find something more, something out of this world. When I was little, I spent ages closing my eyes, wishing with all my might and flinging my wardrobe door open, hoping to find Narnia on the other side. As you can see that didn’t matter. Strangely, that still doesn’t stop us from going into La la land and hoping that one day, those dreams will come true.

Daydreamers are perseverant people. We are people who don’t make sense yet do at the same time. We dream, we read, we feel. And you know what, that doesn’t mean I’m not in reality ’cause I am and I think I’m doing a good job.

Signature

6 thoughts on “La La Land

  1. Wow, this is a really powerful and amazing post today! I think it’s kind of ironic because today is V-day (Happy V-day!!!) and people DAYDREAM (wink, wink, nudge, nudge) about their crush or the person they love. I thought it was a really great post and really enjoyed it! Keep it up, Faith!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Getting all philosophical hey? I used to live in my head a lot but recently I’ve been trying to make the most of the present. You wanting to escape French doesn’t surprise me, trust me I’ve been there ahah.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, that’s some pretty impressive daydreaming! I don’t think it’s overlooking reality at all – it just means you’ve got a very creative mind. 🙂 I don’t daydream all that much these days, but I used to a lot back in school. It’s pretty normal haha. Maybe you can daydream a whole new world and write a book! 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. School is the best place to daydream because you are forced to use your imagination. I’m always struggling to finish a draft because I always want to start another. Short attention span people problems.

      Like

Leave a Reply

