Book reviews

BOOK REVIEW: Dreamfire by Kit Alloway

Joshlyn Weaver has always lived with a big secret. Ordinary kids spend their free time going to the movies, hanging out with friends, and searching on the internet.

But for her, an evening at home usually means entering people’s dreams. For many generations, her family has been part of a very powerful and very secretive society of dream walkers. Tasked with the responsibility of lowering the world’s general anxiety — which only leads to war and strife in the waking world — their job has always been to stop nightmares before they go too far.
By stopping nightmares while sleeping, they help to stop nightmares in real life.

But when an ancient feud within the dream walker society resurfaces right when a seemingly unconnected series of very strange and very scary events start occurring during her dream walks, Josh finds herself in a race against time. The one true dream walker has never been known. Could she be the one?

Source: Penguin Teen Australia (Thank you!!!)
368 pages

My Rating

 red3

I’m really not sure what to think of this book. I have a hate/love relationship with the 3 star rating and so I decided that this book for me, tended towards the 2 star rating but not quite. I compromised and went half way ’cause I’m cool like that.

Anyways, back to the book itself.
I was really fascinated with the concept of the book – dreams. In this novel, Joshlyn was some sort of dream-walking prodigy. Dream-walkers are pretty much a secret society of people who somehow have the ability to go into the Dream world and fix people’s nightmares so that this emotional turmoil won’t spill into reality. Scary shiz, I know. But it was mainly this idea that hooked me into the book. It was original and Alloway manages to create a whole bunch of scientific theories and rules that surround the Dream and World. This was what impressed me and a lot of the times, I found myself believing this whole concept because it totally makes sense and fits in so well with reality.

Joshlyn as a character was kind of frustrating, not much but enough. She’s a perfectionist who beats herself up for every single little mistake. She has the self-esteem of a mouse, meaning she almost has none. She’s constantly talking herself down and this got pretty annoying since the plot started to pick up and all that was standing out to me was her low self-esteem.


I have to admit that her and Will’s relationship was kind of strange. I didn’t really see any specific build up between the two. And when I figured that they were actually romantically interested in each other, it kind of took me by surprise since Josh was still so wind up about her dead ex.

A lot of the action-packed scenes in the book were rushed. This ended up in a very bland plot line. There was a lot of emotional turmoil in this book from each character about an accident that occurs before the book begins and this was pretty much the main spotlight when there should’ve been more concentration on the pacing of each scene. The scenes that I thought should’ve gone longer were cut short and the scenes where I thought should’ve been brief were dragged out.

Other than that though, this book was very unique and had the potential to be an awesome book but lacked something that could’ve followed it through. But I’ll definitely read the sequel when it comes.
Somehow, despite my 2.5 star rating, I would still recommend it.

Signature

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Dreamfire by Kit Alloway

  1. I want to read this books so bad, and I’m disappointed you didn’t like it, but I still want to give it a go, I’m too intrigued to give it up, the concept sounds really unique.

    Like

Leave a Reply

