Book reviews

BOOK REVIEW: Love Bomb by Jenny McLachlan

Perfect Valentine’s reading for fans of Geek Girl and Louise Rennison.

Betty Plum has never been in love. She’s never even kissed a boy. But when H.O.T. Toby starts school it’s like Betty has been hit with a thousand of Cupid’s arrows. It’s like a bomb has exploded – a love bomb!

More than ever Betty wishes her mum hadn’t died when Betty was a baby. She really needs her mum here to ask her advice. And that’s when she finds hidden letters for just these moments. Letters about what your first kiss should feel like and what real love is all about …

Is Betty ready to fall in love? Will she finally have her first kiss?

Source: Bloomsbury Australia (Thank you! This was a nice surprise!)
304 pages

My Rating:

coral3

I haven’t read Flirty Dancing and in all honesty, you didn’t have to when reading this one. This book follows one of the best friends of the main character from Flirty Dancing – Betty and her love life.

This book was kind of frustrating for me. I expected this to be a light, flirty, happy read like Anna and the French Kiss. I dismissed the cheesy title and cover and convinced myself to give this book a try as I do end up loving the books I doubt. Everyone had been talking about how great this series was coming along and I shrugged and gave it a try. This wasn’t really the case with this one. I didn’t really thoroughly enjoy this read.

Betty is a very immature character. Not when it comes to joking or stuff (like me) but more about how she carries herself. She over-analyses everything and convinces herself that she has fallen in love with the new boy, Toby just because he’s hot and she gets the ‘shivers’ when he touches her. *gag* In reality, Toby doesn’t give a shit about her and is just really using her. She thinks this is love when all he does is call her his B-Cakes which I found strange and not cute, at all. And then at the end of the book when not all goes to plan, she suddenly has this huge realization which came as a huge shock to me because there was no hint of this at all. Where I normally do enjoys plot twists, this just felt like something just thrown in to make Betty and the reader feel better.

What I did enjoy in this book was Betty’s mum’s letters. They were cute and down-to-earth and HILARIOUS and towards the end, they did make me tear up. While this idea of letters from a dead mother is a very cliche thing we see a lot, I loved that we didn’t get that sombre, melancholic tone from these letters. They were light and exactly how a care-hearted mother would to her daughter. I loved how the letters seemed like conversations and the amount of character, I saw in Betty’s mum. Without these letters, I think Betty would’ve been completely lost.

In conclusion, definitely a light and easy read. There are times when you want to slam Betty on the head but the letters make everything better. Betty’s character development is quite substantial where she goes from a stupid teenager to a less stupid teenager. Though I will have to defy everyone else’s opinion and say I did not LOVE this book.

Signature

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Love Bomb by Jenny McLachlan

  1. Aww sad that you didn’t enjoy this as much as you thought you would Faith. I really loved it but I agree with you about Betty’s character. She was very immature and read more like an 8-12 year old rather than a teenager. I actually found the story quite predictable and saw the ending coming from a mile away so I wasn’t surprised. Overall I thought it was a nice message to send about what kind of boys are worthwhile of a young girl’s time. Thanks for the honest review, I had fun reading it! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your thoughts kind of remind me of how I felt when I read the first one. I just felt like it was so immature and a bit too ‘young’ for my tastes, and everyone else loved it. Although, your review makes me worried for Love Bomb, I feel like it will be much of the same. Great review Faith, thanks for your honesty!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s