Discussions

LET’S TALK: WHAT IT’S LIKE TO BE A BLOGGER

I’ve recently been thinking about my pre-blogging life.
And then I started thinking about what people think blogging is like compared to what it’s actually like.

Last year when I was thinking about starting to blog, it manipulatively seemed like a fun, easy, laid back ‘hobby’ that would be somewhat close to a breeze or a piece of cake.
Though, I like cake better.

BUT NO, IT ISN’T!

It’s exhausting, stressful, competitive and fidgety.
It also raises my anxiety which I’ve self diagnosed myself with.

So to break the conventions surrounding blogging, here are the confessions of a blogger.

Untitled design

1) I NEED MORE TIME!!!!

Lives are busy as it is. Add the requirement to read books, review them within a month, combined with posts every two day or so, then to comment on other blogs, reply emails and reply comments. It’s hard.

Especially during exam and study season, its extra time consuming and in my mind,I’ll be weighing up blogging against studying and arguing with myself like crazy. It’ll be hectic in my head.

But I read some wise words lately. I’m currently reading Arianna Huffington’s Memoir -‘Thrive’ – the co-founder and editor-of-chief of Huffington’s Post quoted Ian Thomas.

And every day, the world will drag you by the hand yelling, “This is important! And this is important! And this is important! You need to worry about this! And this! And this!”
And each day, it’s up to you to yank your hand back, put it on your heart and say, “No. This is what’s important.”

2) ARGH!!! TOO MANY BOOKS!!!!

Before blogging, I struggled to have a steady flow of books to read. I’d have 4 books to read, fly through them in a week then I would have nothing to read for a while. I’d have read all the good books in my school library and wouldn’t have time to go to the local one. I was poor (and still am) so buying books was a struggle. So I re-read A LOT.

Now, my problem is the exact opposite. I HAVE TOO MANY BOOKS TO READ. They’re piling up all over my room. My bookshelf filled up long ago so they’re on my dressers and on the floor. The daunting pile of books just increase my anxiety. And due to problemo no. 1, there’s not enough time for all of them.
And currently, I have 4 books on my tbr and this is small for me. It’s frightening so I went and bought books to feel less lonier.

3) WRITING REVIEWS ARE DIFFICULT SO TAKE THE TIME TO READ THEM, PEOPLE!!!

Review are a difficult thing to do. You have the aim to draw your audiences but more than that, you have to know what to write. There are books out there that you’ll have no idea what to write about because they were either too average or too emotionally consuming.

4) UNDER PRESSURE

There is that pressure to be super creative and original in the blogging world and it’s harder than it looks.You have these awesome bloggers with a huge number of followers who post the funniest things and you want to match them.

I’m pretty competitive so I’m constantly beating myself over matching their standards and abilities.

Then you have to come up with super witty discussion topics and those are hard for me to follow through with. As you can see, my struggles became the discussion topic.

There are other pressures like your number of followers, comments and likes. Plus, that pressure to receive review copies and when you see another blogger receiving one you didn’t, it’s like jealously eating you up.

5) BLOGGING IS EXPENSIVE!!!

Other than paying with your time and the obvious, irresistible yet money sucking urge to buy books, blogging is more expensive than it looks.

The cost for self-hosting and designing your own custom layout surpasses my bank account amount. There is that choice to stay free like what I’m doing but there are limitations. ANNOYING LIMITATIONS. Like the rafflecopter not appearing and having to link it to an exterior page or having to stick to boring free templates.
I’M JUST NOT ABLE TO DO WHAT I WANT!

Self hosting with WordPress is $99 per year and plus a custom design is around $300-$500 depending who you choose. WHY MUST THIS BE SO HARD!

This is the reality of the blogging life.

It’s not all easy peasy.

It’s not all sunshines and rainbows.

Or cake.

Or summer breezes.

It isn’t even a hobby!

It’s TOUGH and STRESSFUL!

Nevertheless, it is something that’s pretty fun.

I’ve met so many people and learnt so many things. And without blogging, I wouldn’t have found out about some of the YA book events out there. And you do get free books. Less than you would daydream about but you still do.

It’s something I have a hate/love relationship with.

But all in all, I wouldn’t go back!

Untitled design

Questions I pose to you are:

ANY OF YOU BLOGGERS FEEL THE SAME?

DID ANY OF THIS COME AS A SURPRISE TO YOU READERS?

Signature

11 thoughts on “LET’S TALK: WHAT IT’S LIKE TO BE A BLOGGER

  1. Haha this is such a great post! And I agree with everything you’ve said. Blogging is a looooot of hard work . . . but in the end, I think it’s worth it. 🙂 I have to say that one of my main problems is definitely that there are way too many books to read and review, and too little time. xD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with all of this! Blogging is so hard, but very fulfilling at the same time. I don’t think I’ll be going self-hosted anytime soon, considering my blog isn’t even a year old, yet. I agree with the reading and reviewing thing, too! It’s especially hard when I’m drowning in schoolwork.

    Like

  3. Oh my gosh you read my mind! I agree with everything you said. It is so stressful. I have anxiety too and blogging adds to that so much. Having to read ALL the books in a month is SO hard. And I am broke too, so we can be broke together. I’d love to go self hosted, but can’t just yet. Sigh.
    But it is fun, and it is so exciting when a book arrives in the mail. But yes, it is so stressful. I’m going to start requesting less books because I’m finding it just too hard to keep up with it all, and the other books on my shelves that I bought myself are getting neglected. I really want to read them, but I put review copies first.
    Great discussion.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Faith, thank you so much for your honesty in this post! Blogging is definitely not a piece of cake, and it takes a lot of time, money and effort. But it’s something that we do because we’re passionate and we enjoy it! I wouldn’t have ‘met’ you otherwise. Self hosting with other sites is definitely cheaper than WordPress, just have to shop around. Lovely post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

