Book reviews

BOOK REVIEW: From the Ashes by Shelby Morrison

For eighteen years Aia Wynnald has lived a lie. Raised as a highborn in the Kingdom of Tharien, she’s filled her days with tutors and archery lessons. But simmering beneath her polite surface is a dangerous gift, one which she must keep a secret. Aia is a Bender. And in Tharien, Benders are feared and hunted.
When her unruly power breaks free with dire repercussions, Aia’s lifelong goal of independence shatters. As she scrambles to piece her life back together while evading capture, she disturbs a vengeful force intent on destroying the kingdom.
Now, with the help of an unlikely ally, Aia will decide the fate of Tharien. To rescue those she cares about will require accepting what she is. But can she risk becoming the monster she’s dreaded to save the very citizens baying for her blood?

Source: Author (THANK YOU!!!)
285 Pages

Untitled design

My Rating:

blue4

I was pleasantly surprised by this book. The plot was intense as was the writing. The characters on the other hand while enjoyable to read, needed more development. It was a short book so just as I got into it, it begun to end and that kind of disappointed me.

The book pretty much starts as late and as action-packed as possible. And while I can see why you would begin a book like this so that the reader is drawn from the very beginning I would’ve liked it to start earlier. I wanted to see more of Aia’s character from before she runs away so that I could connect to her more.

Cole is such a stoic character. One minute he would be the stiff soldier and the next he would be kind and compassionate to Aia. I would’ve liked to see a more flowing development of their relationship. But the plot twist about Cole (which I will not reveal) dropped the BIGGEST BOMB. I did not see that AT ALL. Thanks for that Shelby.

The writing itself was excellent. It was amazingly descriptive and detailed. I literally just found myself awing at how she puts sentences together because she puts them together so intricately. Reading it, I could feel myself seeing and feeling everything. In most books, the surroundings can be blurry but not in this book. DEFINITELY not in this book.

Generally, a very surprising and intricate book. The whole context of people with powers being condemned pretty much reminded me of every discrimination part of history and I LOVED it since I do love history. But the book ended too abruptly but I guess that means I HAVE to read the next book.

Signature

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: From the Ashes by Shelby Morrison

Leave a Reply

