Book reviews

BOOK REVIEW: Hidden by Marianne Curley

About the Book
HIDDEN by MARIANNE CURLEY (Avena #1)
BLOOMSBURY AUSTRALIA
 
For as long as Ebony can remember, she’s been sheltered. Confined to her home in a secluded valley, home-schooled by her protective parents, and limited to a small circle of close friends. It’s as if she’s being hidden. But something is changing in Ebony. Something that can’t be concealed. She’s growing more beautiful by the day, she’s freakishly strong, and then there’s the fact that she’s glowing.On one fateful night, Ebony meets Jordan and she’s intensely drawn to him. It’s as if something explodes inside of her–something that can be seen from the heavens. Ebony still doesn’t know that she’s a stolen angel, but now that the heavens have found her, they want her back.

Untitled design
Copy of About the Book
coral4 - CROPPED
ANGELS?! HOT ANGELS!
That was pretty much the reason I picked up this book but there were unexpected elements which had me a tiny bit confused.
Firstly, lets talk characters.
Ebony: nothing surprising, oblivious to everything and mostly bland.
Jordan: the same but whinier.
Thane: the same but infinitely HOTTER.
I think characters were the main letdown in this novel. Sure, they played a part but they were just so 2 dimensional. It was all action and reaction. There were certainly elements of thought and a characterising background but it lacked depth. They weren’t vivid enough to leave a lasting mark. Each character blurred in front of me and I found myself confused when the POV changed because each character seemed too much the same.
Ebony was sooo passive it bugged me. Her home is burnt down, her parents are missing but she still had this annoying attitude where she dismissed any possible explanation. There’s a whole chapter where she refuses Thane and Jordan to explain the strange ongoings in her life.
AREN’T YOU A LITTLE BIT CURIOUS?!
I THINK SUPERNATURAL POWERS WOULD BE A SUITABLE EXPLANATION FOR YOUR SUPER WEIRD LIFE!!!
On the other hand, Jordan was nice, too nice. All throughout the story he just wanted Ebony and it’s exactly the same with Thane. They all pretty much liked each other because of each other’s pretty looks.

 

The insta-love was pretty much the basis of this story. AND IT MADE ME CRINGE. A lot of the paragraphs in Jordan and Ebony’s POV were filled with cheesy lines like ‘I can’t deny this connection that we were made for each other…….Why do I feel like I’ve known you all me life?……..I just know that we belong to each?’
GAAAHHH!!!!!!
WHY?! OH WHY?!
Three chapters would’ve been enough to develop some sort of real relationship! It was a short book anyway!
*Sigh.* Anyway, with that rant over I have to say it did keep me up all night. I definitely want to keep on with the series and see how this love triangle works out. In my opinion, there is no love triangle, just a third wheel.

 

The concept behind this novel was brilliant! Avena, the Dark Prince: it was all very
similar to Heaven’s angels and the fall of Lucifer. I really enjoyed this concept and the fact that Curly went above and beyond with the whole angel scenario. And the amount of time Curley spent to develop this plot was perfect.
All in all, an entertaining and interesting read which lack in characters but had a promising plot. I’ve heard good things about the rest of the series so I am hopeful that it gets better.
Signature
One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Hidden by Marianne Curley

Leave a Reply

