Book reviews

BOOK REVIEW: ’89 Walls by Katie Pierson

About the Book

’89 WALLS by KATIE PIERSON

Goodreads
Book Depository

College is not in the cards for Seth. He spends his minimum wage on groceries and fakes happiness to distract his mom from the MS they both know will kill her. It’s agony to carry around a frayed love note for a girl who’s both out of his league and beneath his dignity.

Quinn’s finishing high school on top. But that cynical, liberal guy in her social studies class makes her doubt her old assumptions. Challenging the rules now, though, would a) squander her last summer at home, b) antagonize her conservative dad, and c) make her a hypocrite.

Seth and Quinn’s passionate new romance takes them both by surprise. They keep it a secret: it’s too early to make plans and too late not to care. But it’s 1989. As politics suddenly get personal, they find themselves fighting bare-fisted for their beliefs—and each other—in the clear light of day.

Untitled design

Copy of About the Book

green5

You know those books that you just know you’ll love???
Just by seeing the cover, feeling the book and reading the synopsis. Before even reading the synopsis of this book, my gut just said to me, “We are going to love this book, Faith.”

AND I DID.

THIS BOOK WAS FABULOUS.

This novel was a perfect combination of political tensions and sweet first loves. I love politics. I don’t know if I want to ever be caught up in it but I’m constantly amused by it’s ongoings and tensions.

This book is set in America (1989) during the Cold War and also when there were conflicts between the Dutch and Natives in South Africa. So I just knew that I would 100% LOVE the political conversations. They talk about Reagan and Democrats vs Republicans and throughout this whole book, I was on the edge of my seat wanting to read more of this unpredictable world.

Then on top of this add a passionate and sweet first love. I was thrilled for the ride but also swooning over the romance. This was a wonderful combination. Quinn is a realistic character; both intelligent, studious but also girly. Seth is just all-round sweet. I loved him. He was both honest, innocent and down-to-earth. Their relationship was shy at first but once it hit off, the ride was exhilarating. I enjoyed the fact that they both came from two different ends of the spectrum. Quinn came from a respectable and well-off Republican family and Seth from a poorer, more liberal-minded world. I enjoyed how this book didn’t romanticize their relationship into one where they somehow agreed on everything and never fought. This story concentrated on the opinion conflicts between them and normally I become really edgy and irritated when the couples in YA novels fight but in this book, it only added depth. It made their relationship much more substantial and long-term because they were able to accept each other’s beliefs and values and move on.

The writing and plot was FANTASTIC. I don’t know how Katie Pierson wrote this book so AMAZINGLY but she did. She was able to weave an intricate and unpredictable time period with dense, 4 dimensional characters. I LOVED the time period she set it in and all the music and political references!

I APPLAUD THIS WOMAN!!!!!

Signature

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: ’89 Walls by Katie Pierson

Leave a Reply

