Blog Tour · Book reviews

Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick Blog Tour!!!

DL Blogger BannerYAAAS!!!! THIS IS THE DAY WE’VE BEEN WAITING FOR!!!! 

Can you guess my excitement?! CAN YOU?! CAN YOU?! CAN YOU?!

Okay, I should probably calm down.
Okay, let’s whiz into my blog stop.


About the Book

Dangerous Lies coverDangerous Lies
by Becca Fitzpatrick

Goodreads
Buy it now: Booktopia

Stella Gordon is not her real name. Thunder Basin, Nebraska, is not her real home. This is not her real life.

After witnessing a lethal crime, Stella Gordon is sent to the middle of nowhere for her own safety before she testifies against the man she saw kill her mother’s drug dealer.

But Stella was about to start her senior year with the boyfriend she loves. How can she be pulled away from the only life she knows and expected to start a new one in Nebraska? Stella chafes at her protection and is rude to everyone she meets. She’s not planning on staying long, so why be friendly? Then she meets Chet Falconer and it becomes harder to keep her guard up, even as her guilt about having to lie to him grows.

As Stella starts to feel safer, the real threat to her life increases—because her enemies are actually closer than she thinks…


Copy of About the Book

red4

As you’ve probably already noticed, I loved the book. It wasn’t that obvious, hey?

No doubt, this is probably Fitzpatrick’s best novel by far. I’m sorry to say but Hush, Hush I wasn’t even able to finish because of the sappy insta-love and Black Ice, I enjoyed but I was kind of creeped out by. This one, on the other hand, is fantastic. It’s a great combination of thriller and romance. I wasn’t overwhelmed by Stella and Chet’s romance nor was I confused with the story line. It has a great Law & Order: SVU feel so if you absolutely adore that show (like me) or you’re just a general fan of Ms Fitzpatrick, Dangerous Lies is a must read!

Stella Gordon is a teenager with her whole life ahead of her, including finishing school but that soon disappears when she is relocated to Thunder Basin, a small American town in witness protection after she becomes tangled up in a crime. And man, does she hate it. She is literally a bitch to everyone including Carmina, an old lady who houses her. I have to admit, I HATED Stella when I first started this book. She was a spoilt brat, she was plain rude to Carmina, directly disobeying and questioning every single rule that is meant to protect her from a violet and horrible death. Plus, she literally flirts with the Chet the first moment she meets him. Yes, I found her completely and utterly stupid.

But she grows on you. As I kept reading, I literally forgot that I hated her. She went from a spoilt and unmannered kid who flirted with everyone to this bad-ass, smart-mouthed chick who put people in their place. Throughout the novel not only does her relationship with Chet develop but also her character. I was so happy that by the and, Carmina was like a mother figure to her, teaching her how to be kind as well as keeping her natural bad-assery.

Chet and Stella’s romance is as swoon-worhy as you expect. Chet is the unnatural perfect combination of sensitivity but manliness. He’s super sweet, the ultimate good guy PLUS he is dedicated to look after his brother, meaning he’s a family man.

At the same time, the romance wasn’t too overwhelming. What can sometimes happen in books like these is that the romance becomes too overpowering that you lose track with the main story line. Fortunately that didn’t happen here. Throughout the story, little facts are revealed about the events that led up to Stella’s arrival and what really happened during the night of the crime. I liked the slow development and the small hints that led up to the final revelation. It kept me on my feet and also kept the story rolling.

Overall, one of the highlights of this year! This book will hook you with Stella’s irritating nature from the beginning and her transition to bad-assery. Plus, her swoon-worthy romance with Chet will definitely keep you reading. This intriguing thriller should definitely be on your TBR pile, now.

Now to the fun stuff . . .

I am ever thankful to the people at Simon & Schuster for giving me the opportunity to be part of this blog tour!!

Along with my review, I also had the pleasure to produce some sort of creative content related to the book.

So with my awe-inspiring mind of awesomeness, I decided to bake a cake themed with the emojis I felt whilst reading the book. Whew. Take note that I am not a natural baker. I manage to stuff up packet brownies and burn toast so this was a challenge for me. I stayed up till midnight working on this cake, guys.

Sorry, some of the photos have this weird orange tinge to it.

IMG_6978

IMG_6964

IMG_6965

There’s the cake in all its glory!!! I know, the emojis look a little (actually A LOT) weird. They’re supposed to be (from top, clockwise) a worried emoji, a teeth-chattering and nervous one, a contented emoji and an overall happy one. I tried to keep it simple and cool with the love hearts everywhere, representing the romance in the book and how much I loved it. Did it work?

This cake required a lot of rolling the icing out, careful shape cutting and the most difficult of all, PATIENCE. The satisfaction I felt after finishing this is indescribable and insurmountable!

Anyway, here’s more pictures of the cake before the emojis and after I started digging in to eat it. Btw, IT’S CHOCOLATE!!!

IMG_6945

IMG_6958

IMG_6981

IMG_6982

IMG_6983

There’s my stop!!!

Remember, Dangerous Lies just released so get your hands on the book. It’s just right for summer or, winter in some of you non-southern-hemispheres!

Haha, anyway KEEP UP WITH THE REST OF THE TOUR, SOME AMAZING REVIEWS AND CREATIVE CONTENTS ARE COMING UP! THERE ARE GIVEAWAYS AND SUPER FUN STUFF!!!

STAY TUNED!!!


That’s all from me!!!

I hope to see you guys along the blog tour.

Seriously, guys, it’s going to be fantastic!

Signature

9 thoughts on “Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick Blog Tour!!!

  1. THAT CAKE IS BEAUTIFUL AND WOWWWW. *wipes drool off laptop* It’s incredible! 😀 And this book…yes, yes the book too is incredible. I’m exactly the same as you!! I couldn’t stand Stella at first, she was just, ergh, so rude and spoiled and entitled. BUT THEN OMG SOMETHING HAPPENED. ❤ I love her character development and how she and Carmina got closer. *sniffles happily* Chet was adorable. And I just really liked this one a lot. Definitely my favourite of Becca Fitzpatrick's books!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You baked a cake! Wow I am impressed. It looks fantastic and must have been a lot of work. When I bake a cake I just slap the icing on the top, I’m no good at decorating cakes. You should be very proud of yourself.
    Great review. This was my fav Becca Fitzpatrick book. I loved it too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

