Book reviews · Uncategorized

Book Review: Their Fractured Light (Starboard #3) b Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

About the Book

25931423Their Fractured Light (Starbound #3)
by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Goodreads
Booktopia

A year ago, Flynn Cormac and Jubilee Chase made the now infamous Avon Broadcast, calling on the galaxy to witness for their planet, and protect them from destruction. Some say Flynn’s a madman, others whisper about conspiracies. Nobody knows the truth. A year before that, Tarver Merendsen and Lilac LaRoux were rescued from a terrible shipwreck—now, they live a public life in front of the cameras, and a secret life away from the world’s gaze.
Now, in the center of the universe on the planet of Corinth, all four are about to collide with two new players, who will bring the fight against LaRoux Industries to a head. Gideon Marchant is an eighteen-year-old computer hacker—a whiz kid and an urban warrior. He’ll climb, abseil and worm his way past the best security measures to pull off onsite hacks that others don’t dare touch.

Sofia Quinn has a killer smile, and by the time you’re done noticing it, she’s got you offering up your wallet, your car, and anything else she desires. She holds LaRoux Industries responsible for the mysterious death of her father and is out for revenge at any cost.

When a LaRoux Industries security breach interrupts Gideon and Sofia’s separate attempts to infiltrate their headquarters, they’re forced to work together to escape. Each of them has their own reason for wanting to take down LaRoux Industries, and neither trusts the other. But working together might be the best chance they have to expose the secrets LRI is so desperate to hide.


 

Copy of About the Book

coral5

I think this rating was expected because this book was AMAZING!!! Seriously, I am in the middle of the worst book hangover because of this book. I didn’t realise how much I was in love with this trilogy until this book ended and then I was like, “That’s it? It’s ended?”

jennifer-lawrence-gif-29

There are no words to explain how perfect of a concluding book ‘Their Fractured Light’ was. It was on point with everything. I was flailing when all of the trilogy’s characters united against evil and all the techno, futuristic stuff was beyond cool – it was AWESOME.

In this novel, we have two new fantastic characters, Gideon and Sofia!!!  Gideon – a super talented hacker and Sofia, a girl who can act her through any tough situation. Though, they are both very different and have undergone heartbreaking ordeals – Gideon losing his brother and Sofia, her father – they have one thing in common. They want to take down LaRoux Industries. *cue dramatic music*

dramatic_exit_gif

Of course, their developing feelings and their wariness to trust each other makes everything complicated and of course, we discover so much more about LaRoux’s evil schemes and what he’s been doing to the Whispers. I still find the Whispers creepy AF but at the same time, also find them like fluffy little puppies. Weird, I know.

But, the mind-blowing technology, writing style and evil plans will hook you from the beginning. Sofia is a much more emotional character that I was used. Lilac and Jubilee were like tough, bad-ass, super strong women who tucked away their feelings. Sofia on the other hand, who was still tough and bad-ass, I found was more emotional. Gideon always talked about the fear in her eyes and the emerging tears and sometimes I was confused because SHE SHOULDN’T BE AFRAID. But Sofia was still pretty awesome with the way she could blend with any environment and think quick on her feet. Gideon was also kick-ass. Do not be manipulated into think he’s a geek because of his amazing hacking skills. NO. Even though, it is nearly impossible to find in the real world, Gideon is a HOT, super sweet hacker. But other than that, he was smart and kind. That was what I adored the most out of him, his compassion and intelligence combined.

plus-swoon-worthy-look

I can guarantee that you will love this action-packed conclusion. All our characters band together and I JUST LOVED WATCHING THEM WORK TOGETHER LIKE THE AWESOME BUNCH I KNEW THEY WOULD BE!!! There are some heart-breaking parts that make you want to cry and binge-eat but the ending is soooooo worth it. Not spoiling.

I fangirled watching them kick ass and combine all their abilities (superpowers in my eyes). There were times that I wanted Lilac, Tarver, Flynn and Jubilee’s perspective because I missed them but then I remembered that it wouldn’t be fair to our new players and they totally deserve playing time.

You are a fan of sci-fi (like me), then this should be at the top of you TBR pile. If you haven’t continued this series, I totally recommend that you do. This is definitely one of the best books I’ve read this year and one my top all time favourite series.

Signature

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Their Fractured Light (Starboard #3) b Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

  1. YAY, so glad you loved this!! I’m still making my way through this book at the moment, but I’m loving it so far. Gideon and Sofia are so great together, I’m rooting for them ALL THE WAY!! So happy to hear that it’s a great concluding book to the trilogy, I’ll be sad to see this one end.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

