Discussions · Uncategorized

2015 Highlights: Books, Music, Movies & TV

Highlights of 2015Merry Christmas and Happy Boxing Day to everyone!!!

I hope you guys enjoyed the holiday season with family, friends and of course, BOOKS!

I celebrated Christmas in Indonesia and honestly, it didn’t feel much like the holidays as I binged the Flash throughout the whole day. I have no regrets because I had the beautiful Barry Allen to accompany me.

tumblr_nkkkjgeoza1srw223o3_500

Anyway, as the year draws to a close, the time has come to reflect back on our book, movie, tv show and music favourites of the past year. This year was certainly one the best when it came to those and now its time to celebrate them and also look forward to future highlights.

YAY!!!

In Music

This year was an awesome year for music!!!

My Spotify account was getting a lot of love with the amount of playlists I made. But of course, there are favourites so here are my top 5 Doctortracks/albums of 2015 (in no particular order)!!!

  1. A Head Full of Dreams Album – Coldplay 

    ahfod1000
    YAY, a new Coldplay album!!!! Woo hoo!!!! And can I tell you, this one is waaaaay better than Ghost Stories. It’s less depressing, there’s more of an indie feel to it and it’s just fantastic. My favourite tracks are definitely Adventure of a Lifetime and Hymn for the Weekend!

  2. 25 Album – Adele
    2dbd5ac100000578-3294487-goodbye_apple_declined_adele_s_appeal_for_the_cd_version_of_her_-a-4_1446103123423
     

    25 was probably one the most anticipated albums of 2015. Adele is back with another album full of raw emotional beauty. Hello is the most iconic track but my favourite is Say Hello to our New Lover; who expected that chorus?! Not me!

  3. New Americana – Halsey
    halsey-new-americana-2015
    Halsey was my new-found favourite artist of 2015. Man, I wished I knew she existed earlier. I love her dark sound and New Americana is definitely a unique song. The beginning begins really dark and moody yet still gets you pumped up until the chorus just explodes in your ear.
  4. Like Real People Do – Hozier
    800041732_500w_500h
    Hozier was another new artist of 2015. Whilst I liked Take Me to Church, I LOVED Like Real People Do. The melody is something I am immediately hooked to and when I’m on the train, this song is always on my playlist.
  5. Smoke and Mirrors Album – Imagine Dragons
    imagine_dragons_-_smoke_2b_mirrors
     

    I could not, not include this album since I absolutely had a blast at their concert. I wish I could time travel back to that night. The atmosphere was so vivid and their performances and music are sooooo much better live than in recording. Favourite tracks definitely include Gold, Hopeless Opus and Polaroid. I cannot wait for what else Imagine Dragons has to offer.


 

In Books

OMG, the books this year were FANTASTIC!!! So many memories *tears* and so much anticipation *squeals*

Here are this years top 5!!!

  1. Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J Maas
    79484_original1This was probably one the most anticipated novels of this year and boy, did it not disappoint. The action, romance and stakes were raised. Celaena is even more bad-ass and in this one, all our old characters from Assassins Blade are seen again. This book will never ever leave my mind!
  2. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

    Are you surprised another SJ Maas novel made it to this list? Well, you shouldn’t be because her books are AWESOME. ACOTAR was just as fantastic and intriguing as I expected it to be. Maas has a talent for conjuring bad-ass characters with vivid personalities. Feyre is different from Celaena but just as amazing. This book had a much darker tone but it did not get in the way of its sly humour. Cannot wait for the sequel!
  3. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

    THE TEARS THAT THIS BOOK HAD ME IN!!!!! OMG, the raw emotion and honesty in this book was amazing and so lyrically written. Definitely one the best books I have read which deals with depression/suicide. I’m really interested on how this book will translate into the film but I just really, really, really hope that it won’t change the book’s inherent meaning in any way.
  4. End of Days (Penryn and the End of Days #3) by Susan Ee

    This trilogy is not doubt one of the most kick-ass, hilarious, action-packed, post-apocalyptic trilogy ever!!! Even though the premise of it is supposed to be dark and depressing, it is surprisingly one of the funniest series I have ever read. The concluding book did not disappoint AT ALL. I loved how everything ended, how everything unfolded and I am going to desperately miss Penryn and Raffe’s banter.
  5. Go Set a Watchmen by Harper Lee

    Scout returns as an adult and I loved reading her character growth. She’s always been one of my favourite fictional characters and SHE HAS RETURNED!!! There are definitely surprises about Atticus and Jem. There are tears shed and some laughs. We are introduced to new characters but this book is definitely heart-warming.

In TV

I didn’t watch too much TV this year but what I did watch was AMAZING. I might have been too obsessed with some of  these but as always, NO REGRETS!

  1. The Flash Season 1 & 2
    the-flash-key-art-16x9-1
    The Flash is FANTASTIC, AMAZING and let’s just recognise Barry Allen’s sheer hotness. I have literally spent 3 days binging all the episodes and now I just NEED S2, Ep 10 NOW!!! I need more Barry Allen in my life and *squeals* this show is soon good! Not only do I love hearing the science, I love the theories and how they come into play. Everything from time travel to alternate dimensions is in this show and it is amazing!
  2. Doctor Who Season 9 & Christmas Special

    I have to admit last season wasn’t the best so my expectations lowered for this year’s season but man, did I underestimate it. THIS YEAR WAS FANTASTIC!!! The episodes were so intricate, I think Steven Moffat finally found the 12th Doctor’s character. In here, he was so much more loveable despite his snarky personality and Clara was as bad-ass as always. I’m still in mourning after the season finale but the Christmas Special was as great as I expected. It was so much fun to see River again and see her interact with the 12th Doctor.
  3. Law & Order: SVU Season 16

    Olivia Benson is undoubtedly one of my role models. She manages to lead a squad, raise Noah and put criminals in jail. It’s the ultimate show for feminists looking for a show that breaks all gender conventions. This year was an emotional and dramatic rollercoaster with Amaro leaving (NOO!!!!) but I looked forward to Thursday Night every week.
  4. How I Met Your Mother
    This year was the year I discovered How I Met Your Mother and especially towards the beginning of this year, it was legit the only show I watched. I was dedicated to watching this hilarious gang interact. Their dramas were so funny, Tedd is so loveable and can we just take a moment to appreciate Barney’s swag. It is a great show, not only because of it’s humour and original storylines abut I learnt so many life lessons fro this show regarding love, friendship and family. Tears for the ending. . .
  5. Criminal Minds Series 19
    criminal-minds
    Another one of my favourite crime shows. We were introduced to Kate Callahan (Jennifer Love Hewitt) who I had high hopes for but I as disappointed. Reid is still my favourite character but Kate, for me had so much hype but honestly didn’t have a solid role in the gang. But despite that, I still enjoyed the psychology of the crimes and seeing this gang work together to keep America safe. *cue dramatic music*

In Movies

Let’s talk about this year’s biggest movies!!

WOO HOO!!! Boy, was this a year! It was definitely the year I went to the movies the most and I hope that 2016 is even better!!!

Take note, I would consider this a little of an unreliable list since I still haven’t seen Sisters, Hunger Games: Mockingly Part II, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, Crimson Peak, The Walk or Suffragette and I know that at least one of those would make it into this list. Just a warning.

  1. Star Wars VII: The Force Awakens
    star_wars
    Of course, this movie was on this list!!!! I expected the movie to be good but I didn’t expect it to be this AMAZING!!!! I love Rey and the fact that she is a perfect representation of what feminists are asking of in a female protagonists. She doesn’t hold the guy’s hand when running, she can fly the Millennium Falcon and she can fight for herself. There were a lot of tears involved; not spoiling but by the ending of this film, I think we can expect and episode VIII and XI.
  2. The Martian
    the-martian-main
     

    OMG, this movie was fantastic!!! I was in awe because so many of the characters in this film are soon clever. I was in awe watching Mark Watery grow poop potatoes and find a way to communicate with NASA! I also loved the light humour despite the serious circumstance and Matt Damon was amazing in this role.

  3. Interstellar
    interstellar-3
    Another space movie; see a pattern? Well, I L-O-V-E space movies! Just thinking about this film makes me want to see it again. I loved the theories and how it boggled my mind and made me think. Matthew McConaughey brought tears to my eyes with his acting. The whole scene with the Black Hole was mind-boggling. There is no doubt that this movie is a must watch.
  4. Inside Out
    inside-out
     

    A Disney movie had to make it to this list and this was it. I will admit I bawled my eyes in the cinemas at the end of this film. It so heart-warming watching the emotions of a child bordering teenage-hood come alive. It was so original, witty and hilarious.

  5. The Last Five Years
    tlfy-banner
    I love musical theatre. I’m not much of a singer or actor myself (only a dancer) but if I was, I think I would definitely think about doing musical theatre. This one was my new-found musical of this year and I loved the movie. I watched it with a friend and she didn’t really enjoy it but I loved it. I liked the raw emotion, the large amount of singing and the fact that it addressed the issue that some relationships don’t last. Honestly though, in this case, it was the guy’s fault this relationship changed. The best part of this film though was definitely the non-liner storyline. I enjoyed the fact that it jumped around a lot because it kept me on my feet.

 


So there you have it!!!
MY HIGHLIGHTS FOR 2015!!!

I hope you guys enjoyed, agreed or even disagreed with the choices.

But let me know,

WHAT WERE YOUR FAVOURITES OF 2015?

SAME? DIFFERENT?

LET ME KNOW WHAT BOOK/MOVIE/SHOW/TRACK I should be jumping onto.

Signature

One thought on “2015 Highlights: Books, Music, Movies & TV

Leave a Reply

