Book reviews · Uncategorized

Book Review: The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

About the Book

23573399The Sky is Everywhere
by Jandy Nelson

Goodreads
Booktopia

For fans of John Green, David Levithan and Rainbow Rowell: a beautiful, funny and heartfelt novel about love and forgiveness. Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to centre stage of her own life – and suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two boys. One boy takes Lennie out of her sorrow; the other comforts her in it. But the two can’t collide without Lennie’s world exploding…


 

Copy of About the Book

red4

REJOICE PEOPLE!!!
I’VE JUST READ MY FIRST JANDY NELSON BOOK!!

giphy

It was pretty incredible by what you can deduce by my reaction. It was breath-taking and poetic and tear-jerking and just B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L. Lennie is such a raw character and her complicated emotions whilst grieving – whilst is strange – is originally honest. Original and witty, this book so perfectly addresses the importance of family and words in love and mourning.

Let’s begin with Lennie. She was introduced to us as the awkward, geeky, bookworm teenager but to me, she didn’t seem like it. She seemed pretty smooth with Joe and and comfortable (a bit too comfortable) with Toby. Nevertheless, her journey in grief for her sister’s (Bailey) death was poetic. It’s one of those books which you want to instinctively mark the pages with post-its because of ALL THE beautiful words.

“Grief and love are conjoined, you don’t get one without the other. All I can do is love her and love the world, emulate her by living with daring and spirit and joy”

ISN’T IT JUST FILLED WITH BEAUTIFUL EMOTION?!

large

Joe was gorgeous human-being not only because he’s friggin’ French and we all know French people are beautiful. But he was straight-forward, sweet and loyal. He liked the girl and he went for her without any of that confusing mumbo jumbo which I call texting. He went to her house, connected with her family, hang out with Lennie and TOLD HER HIS FEELINGS. I love books when the love interest is straight-forward with their feelings. It saves a lot of tedious running around and allows the novel the concentrate on their relationship and how it builds their character.

Toby on the other hand was annoying AF. Yeah, he was nice and all. BUT HE WAS HER DEAD SISTER’S BOYFRIEND. Their whole relationship was confusing and I just didn’t understand how they could make out with the ghost of Bailey probably watching from above. Y-U-C-K. The whole time I’m shaking my head going, “Ew, ew, ew, ew, ew, ew, no, no, no.” SHE DIDN’T EVEN LIKE HIM ANYWAY!!! It was a friends-with-benefits- because-we’re-both-sad-and-depressed-about-Bailey’s-death-situation.

ew-emma-stone-yuck

Perfect writing and pacing. This book is so lyrical and raw. If you haven’t read a Jandy Nelson book and you’re late like I was then this is a great book to start with.

Signature

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s