Discussions

Let’s Talk: School Reading

IMG_9093

The time has come for me to do some school reading. I don’t know about you but I struggle to do this. I know that as a bibliophile I should have no problem with school reading, I should look forward to it, engulf each book and enjoy the thrill of it. Um, well, I’m a black sheep so this doesn’t actually happen to me.

The problem isn’t actually with the reading (well, maybe). But it’s the time and the amount of books I have to read. Without the school reading pile, I already have a pile of books that I already have to power through. The pile is almost as tall as me (even though I’m 5’3)! And most of the time, those books mean more to me and I’d rather be reading those books than Shakespeare. It’s extremely difficult for me to absorb Shakespeare when all I’m thinking about it is Karou and Akiva in Days of Blood and Starlight. Thank goodness, No Fear Shakespeare was invented.

IMG_9091.jpg

But seriously, in the past I have tried to avoid school reading as much as possible not just because I have other books to read but I also hate books being shoved into my hands like “Here. You HAVE to read these by blah, blah, blah”.  I like having a choice.

I have not read a single school designated Shakespeare book in my past high school years. This year is my first time since I’m all grown up and in Year 11 and in NSW, Australia, that’s pretty much the start of your last years at school which mean A LOT. Last year, I did not read Animal Farm because no matter how hard I tried I just couldn’t absorb anything. Everything was just so annoying and talking pigs kind of freaked me out. No surprise that I did not do well in that section of my exam.

IMG_9096

On the other hand, there have been books that I did enjoyed. To Kill A Mockingbird, Rebecca, The Happiest Refugee – those books I enjoyed reading and discussing except for maybe The Happiest Refugee, I saw no point in discussing the themes of that book.

So yeah, that’s what I think of school reading.

But I’m super curious if I’m the only bookworm who doesn’t particularly enjoy reading designated books.

So tell me,

DO YOU LIKE SCHOOL READING?

WHY? WHY NOT?

LET ME KNOW IN THE COMMENTS!

 

4 thoughts on “Let’s Talk: School Reading

Leave a Reply

