Book reviews

Mini-Review: Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh

IMG_9172

About the Book

27225763Burning Midnight
by Will McIntosh

Goodreads
Pan Macmillan

How much would you pay for superpowers? Fast-paced action adventure with a world-changing twist…

For fans of The Maze Runner and The 5th Wave, this debut YA novel from Hugo Award-winner Will McIntosh pits four teens against an evil billionaire in the race of a lifetime.

Sully is a sphere dealer at a flea market. It doesn’t pay much – Alex Holliday’s stores have muscled out most of the independent sellers – but it helps him and his mum make the rent. No one knows where the brilliant-coloured spheres came from. One day they were just there, hidden all over the earth like huge gemstones. Burn a pair and they make you a little better: an inch taller, skilled at maths, better-looking. The rarer the sphere, the greater the improvement – and the more expensive the sphere.

When Sully meets Hunter, a girl with a natural talent for finding spheres, the two start searching together. What they find will change more than just their lives… Because the entire world fights over spheres, but no one knows why they’re here or what their powers are… until now.


Copy of About the Book

purple3

Why a mini review you ask?

Well, it was kind of a mini book.

giphy9

This is one of those books that you easily could swallow in about 3 hours. The plot is action-packed and simple. The characters are pretty straight-forward with what they want, there’s no mystery behind them. It’s pretty much a book with action, treasure-hunts, romance and ‘The Fog’ type aliens all rolled into a compact 300 page novel.

A pair of teenagers (who later fall in love) who are poor band together to hunt for expensive spheres which literally give you gifts like being better looking, have higher intelligence or enhanced hearing. It’s all too good to be true and they’re scattered and hidden around places for random people to find and sell. It’s no surprise that these weird orbs come with a price.

748392

Now, I’m keeping this review spoiler free but SERIOUSLY?! These spheres come out of nowhere giving people gifts and no one’s suspicious about anything?!! You don’t know what that shit is doing to your body. I was not surprised when aliens came into the picture. Oops, mini spoilers.

giphy10

Sully is your typical teenage guy who is a little temperamental and kind of naive. At the same time, Hunter is your bad-ass love interest who is apparently not scared of anything. Even diving into water tanks. Her name is properly suited to her personality. Together they hunt for spheres to simply make their lives better. Sully’s been exploited by an evil billionaire who sells these orbs and Hunter is an orphan just trying to survive. Their romance is given from the moment they meet and stays pretty consistent throughout the novel.

When they finally hit the jackpot, shit happens. The earth becomes in trouble and only these two plus two more kick-ass friends know how to stop the aliens. It’s a fun-filled and humorous book, take for the aliens and ‘too-good-to-be-true spheres.

Signature

Advertisements

One thought on “Mini-Review: Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s