Discussions

Let’s Talk || When Did Reading Become a Chore?

Let's Talk -- Reading- A Chore-


If you’re a busy wizzy bee like me, you know the struggle of finding time to do anything from watching tv, writing, sleeping or in my case, reading.

In short,

IT’S SO HARD TO FIND TIME TO READ!!!

giphy3

I’ve found that the only way to do is to pre-schedule time for reading. That normally falls between school work, sleeping and surfing the internet. You hear everyday that the internet is such a distraction from school, that it reduces the chance of you absorbing all that content, blah, blah, blahby blah.

What they don’t tell you is that the internet is also friggin’ distracting when reading.

tumblr_mus16u4dns1r1vf9eo1_500

Seriously, how many times do I have to check Facebook, emails and Youtube before I decide to settle down and dedicate at least an hour to get reading done?

And because of that, reading has almost become a chore.

It’s something that I have to catch up one, something to finish and I forget that I actually enjoy reading. I love reading and now it’s just something that piles up.

How long has it been like this? Well, ever since school started. STUPID SCHOOL.
No. Wait. I take that back. School isn’t stupid. It’s a privilege that I get to go when millions of other girl don’t.

Reading should be something you want to do rather than something you have to do.

I finished Lady Midnight last night and it made me remember the time I flew by Cassandra Clare’s books, completely enraptured. It was probably the years I didn’t care about school because all I cared about was reading. Now, I have to balance both because school’s become too important. But then again, so is reading.

By the way, do you guys want a review of Lady Midnight? Actually, I think I will because I NEED TO RANT.

Short little random rant: I AM SICK OF THE ROMANCES WHICH ARE LIKE, “I’M GOING TO PUSH HIM AWAY BECAUSE I’M PROTECTING HIM. HE CAN’T KNOW I LOVE HIM AND THAT WE CAN BE TOGETHER BECAUSE IT’S TOO DANGEROUS…BLAH, BLAH, BLAH.” URGH. I’M SO SICK OF IT!!!!

snape

But conclusively, reading now feels like a chore.

I think to solve this I just need to remember why I love reading in the first place and why I still work so hard to make sure time don’t get in the way of it.


What about you people?
Has reading become a chore for you?
How do you manage your time so you still have time to read?
How do you kill the menacing distraction?

Signature

5 thoughts on “Let’s Talk || When Did Reading Become a Chore?

  1. Not so long ago I had kind of started to feel like this. Books were taking me forever to finish, and I really would much rather just surf the Internet or watch Netflix when I got home from work. Now though, I have no WiFi, and haven’t for 6 weeks, so my reading has massively picked up. Now I really want to read because it’s something to do! So it turns out the Internet must have been my biggest distraction!
    I hope you manage to start really enjoying reading again soon anyway. Awesome post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Totally know how you feel. The library is where I used to get all of my books. Since I graduated from college last year and I don’t have a library in my local area, all of my books are digital. I end up just wanting to cruise the internet. By the time I feel like reading, I’m internet-wary. lol Reading can definitely feel like a chore, but I’m determinted to reach my TBR goal this year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

