Book reviews

Book Review || When We Collided by Emery Lord

IMG_0409


About the Book

9781408870082When We Collided
by Emery Lord

Goodreads
Bloomsbury

We are seventeen and shattered and still dancing. We have messy, throbbing hearts, and we are stronger than anyone could ever know…

Jonah never thought a girl like Vivi would come along.

Vivi didn’t know Jonah would light up her world.

Neither of them expected a summer like this…a summer that would rewrite their futures.

In an unflinching story about new love, old wounds, and forces beyond our control, two teens find that when you collide with the right person at just the right time, it will change you forever.


Copy of About the Book

red4

SO MANY CONFLICTED FEELINGS

argh

I have absolutely have no idea how to write this review because this book both intrigued and annoyed me. I DON’T KNOW WHAT TO THINK.

giphy3

Soooooooo,
this book took me about 3.5 hours to read. I started it late at night and stayed up even later to finish it. I definitely could not put it down because the plot-line was fast paced, the small town setting was vivid and each character was unique. I can absolutely see why everyone is loving this book. It’s really hard to pinpoint what exactly made this book was mesmerising to read but it definitely has something to do with the characters.

Vivi was a new type of character to read about. Though, she did remind me of the manic-pixie-girl archetype because she’s beautiful, brash and simply fascinating but Lord used that archetype to surprise us even more with Vivi’s bipolar disorder. This way it would be hard to place her character into a box and label her. Good one, Emery.

giphy4

I have to admit Vivi was annoying. She was not a likeable character. She took advantage of Jonah’s love, plus, she was selfish and obnoxious. I was definitely not a fan of her. But after reading more about her disorder and her experience with depression, I did soften up a bit and by the end of the book, I disliked her less (but I still didn’t particularly like her). Lord’s description about depression was extremely lyrical. The lines Vivi says sometimes just leave you in awe.

“For one night, I want my wings back. But not the wings of a mighty bird, beating powerfully enough to make noise against the air. I want to drift dreamily in the breeze, to let the wind direct me.”

Jonah, on the other hand – OMG, WHAT A BAE. HE’S SO SWEET AND HE COOKS AND HE LOVES HIS FAMILY AND HE’S SO KIND. FIND ME A GUY LIKE THIS PLEASE!!!

giphy5

I LOVED READING FROM HIS POV. His family is one of those large, dysfunctional ones that we all adore reading about. Mourning the loss of their father and their mother’s self-imposed isolation, Jonah is the one to look after not only his siblings but the restaurant his father left. Reading about him was very different to reading about Vivi. He is faced with an immense challenge and loss but still manages to raise the restaurant up and make is successful whilst looking after his siblings.

The small, coastal town setting was also incredibly vivid. By the end of the book, you have this mental map in your head about where everything is and you even know all the unique people who work. I understand why the first line of the book is about Vivi falling in love with the town because even I did.

All in all, an immensely complex and entertaining read. The characters are more than unique, they’re complicated and extremely dimensional. The story itself is so interesting, their love story is definitely not your conventional one. It immediately starts breaking down when it begins but it’s fascinating to read about how far love will go.

Signature

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review || When We Collided by Emery Lord

  1. Okay to be really honest, reading the blurb for the book on Goodreads put me off because I felt like there’s just so many books with similar plot lines! But I enjoyed your review so that made me think a bit differently about the book. Also, I just like reading about coastal towns haha ^-^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can see why the romance orientated story would put people off because it seems it’ll be like every other one. But give it a try. Worst come to worst, the book will be chucked across the room. Haha!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

