Discussions

Let’s Talk || Books I Gave Up On

Now, I don’t give up on books very easily. But even though we’re readers, there are books out there we simply don’t finish because they’re either boring or frustrating.

As an opinionated fangirl, here is my list of books I gave up on.
Please don’t yell at me, it’s just my opinion.

We’re all different, people!

  1. Animal Farm by George Orwell

animalfarm

This first novel was on my reading list for school and it was simply boring for me because I just couldn’t immerse myself into the story. Also, the talking animals kind of creeped me out.

2. Evermore (The Immortals #1) by Alyson Noel

3975774

I don’t think I’m a black sheep when I mention this book. I did not finish this one because it embodied all the YA cliches that I was tired of. It was too predictable and it frustrated  me too much so I put I down, choosing to forget about it.

3. Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen

pride-and-prejudice_bn

OKAY, OKAY, DON’T HIT ME.

I like Jane Austen but I just wasn’t fan of this particular novel. This one is the most popular of her books but not for me. Mr Darcy annoys me and Lizzy isn’t the most rational character for me. Her sisters annoy me as well. I’m enjoying Sense & Sensibility so far because there’s that balance of emotional and logic but in Pride & Prejudice all I was reading about was emotional turmoil and societal expectations.

4. A Fortunate Age by Joanna Rakoff

25661985

I received this one for a review and it’s still sitting on my shelf with a bookmark in it. The novel has received a lot of acclaim and for me, it started out well. It’s an original story about a group of people in New York City – it reminded me a lot of Friends. For me, the story begun slowing down and I simply lost interest. Maybe one day, I might try this book again.

5. Inkspell by Cornelia Funke

553808

This was the childhood book which I tried again and again to finish. Aaaaaand I never could. I still have a bookmark about halfway through this novel as well. Again, I lost interest, the plot was dragging on for me and I vividly remember falling asleep whilst reading this – not in a good way.


Those are the main books I never finished!!!
So tell me yours!!!!
ANY BOOKS YOU NEVER COULD FINISH??!!!

Signature

 

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk || Books I Gave Up On

  1. Mary Shelly ‘ s Frankenstein. I got 5 chapters in and I just couldn’t do it. It was for school too. Even the thouht of failing the test couldn’t make me read it. (Thank god for class discussion, I did pass)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

