Discussions

The War on Women: Our Fight Back || #1: My Experience

The War on Women- Our Fight Back

To celebrate Women’s Equality Day and the release of Sue LLoyd-Roberts’ upcoming novel ‘The War on Women And the Brave Ones Who Fight Back’ on 1st September, the next five days will be made up of daily posts on gender inequality issues. Aren’t I just a genius?!

You know how everyone has that one topic or issue that they are specifically and especially passionate about whether it be marriage equality or world hunger? Mine is feminism and gender equality. Talk to all my friends about it and they’ll roll their eyes at my rants. I’m proud to have a shelf dedicated to feminist texts and that I am subscribed to a bunch of feminist online websites.the-war-on-women-9781471153907_lg

To begin, I’m going to begin with my personal experience with gender inequality and why no matter how many people say it doesn’t exist anymore, my experience will be added to all the evidence in the world that it still does.
My journey along this road started when I was fifteen during my school’s sex and relationships lessons during our religion classes. I go to a Catholic school and stop, right now. I can imagine all of you cringing and conjuring up pictures of outspoken middle aged Donald Trump look alikes who shout ‘REPENT OR YOU WILL DIE!’ Being religious isn’t all like that. There are connotations of religion becoming redundant and also, constraining but I am firm believer that you can be religious and progressive at the same time. I simply don’t think they’re mutually exclusive because I, myself am religious and progressive.

Anyway, back to the my school’s religion classes. I don’t particularly agree will how my school teaches sex education. We’re taught to dress modestly or boys will lose respect of us, we are first introduced to sex education during science where we learn the biological point of it and when we ask our religion teachers how to actually have sex, they tell us that we’ll ‘figure it out.’ Sex isn’t described to be for pleasure, instead it is mainly for procreation.

You’d think since I go to an all girls school, you’d think it would be about girl power every day. WRONG. I feel like my school emphasises our role as nurturers and our responsibility to commit ourselves to community service too heavily. We don’t get motivational talks about women in leadership and our ability to transcend the restricting expectations on women. Nope. We get talks about how to practice chastity and why gay marriage is wrong.

But think about it, why does feminism have to even exist in the first place? Shouldn’t it be a given that women receive the same right and opportunities from the day of their birth. It’s so entrenched in human history to favour men, especially white men. Why does this happen? And why haven’t we eradicated this inequality after like a bajillion years of human history? How has Donald Trump – a sexist, racist person come so far to potentially become one of the world’s biggest country’s leader? Humanity, you boggle me sometimes!

I’ve just begun chapter 1 ‘The War on Women & The Brave One Who Fight Back’ by Sue Lloyd-Roberts (thank you so much to Simon & Schuster for the copy!) and I have already felt adoration, disgust, inspiration, anger in the first 20 pages. These next 5 days will combine my own thoughts on feminism with also my feelings about the book as I peruse through it. Such a perfect combination, eh?

The book follows women from all around, recounting their experiences with some of gender inequalities biggest issues like genital mutilation, sex trafficking and the gender wage gap. It’s such a gripping story already and I cannot wait to read more.

That’s post numero uno and I realise now, it’s pretty disorganised with no structure but I’m going to leave it like this because I am simply not bothered to re-write.

Now, I want to know:
Are you a feminist?
What are your thoughts on gender inequality, Donald Trump and what we teach women?
I would LOVE to know your opinions!!

Signature

 

4 thoughts on “The War on Women: Our Fight Back || #1: My Experience

  1. Hi Faith 🙂 This is awesome, but I have a few questions. Women are the only people who can be mothers, so what’s wrong with being nurturing? It’s a quality that all people need, for sure, but especially women. And it is natural for a woman to be nurturing – it’s in their nature and biology to be motherly. And just quickly, what has an emphasis on social services got to do with feminism?
    Thanks,
    Barbara ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Barbara! Thank you so much and I completely understand and agree with you. I just think that my school emphasises one side without the other. The social services part is that my school’s brother school is encouraged to serve less than the girls in the sister school which I find a little unsettling. Shouldn’t we both be taught to serve society equally?

      Like

    2. Barbara, as a woman I am not very nurturing. I accepted this a while ago. And i don’t understand why this quality is ‘especially’ needed for a woman. Also, there are so many women who are not mothers for various reasons, but these women shouldn’t be considered ‘unnatural.’

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

