Book reviews

Mini- Review: Scrappy Little Nobody || Anna Kendrick

img_9816


About the Book copy

scrappy-little-nobody-9781471156816_lgScrappy Little Nobody
Anna Kendrick

Simon & Schuster
Goodreads 

RRP: $35.99

A collection of humorous autobiographical essays by the Academy Award-nominated actress and star of Up in the Air and Pitch Perfect.
  I’m excited to publish my first book, and because I get uncomfortable when people have high expectations, I’d like to use this opportunity to showcase my ineptitude, pettiness, and the frequency with which I embarrass myself. And while many of my female inspirations who have become authors are incredibly well-educated and accomplished comedy writers, I’m very, very funny on Twitter, according to Buzzfeed and my mom, so I feel like this is a great idea. Quick question: are run-on sentences still frowned upon? Wait, is ending a sentence with a preposition still frowned upon? I mean, upon frowned? Dammit!  Anna Kendrick
Anna Kendrick’s autobiographical collection of essays amusingly recounts memorable moments throughout her life, from her middle-class upbringing in New England to the blockbuster movies that have made her one of Hollywood’s most popular actresses today. Expanding upon the witty and ironic dispatches for which she is known, Anna Kendrick’s essays offer her one-of-a-kind commentary on the absurdities she’s experienced on her way to and from the heart of pop culture.


About the Book

green4

There is a reason I love Anna Kendrick.

And this memoir pretty much embodies that. She’s relatable, self-deprecating and hilarious. Plus, I’ve enjoyed every movie I’ve watched that stars her. Who doesn’t love Pitch Perfect?! And What to Expect when You’re Expecting?! She has this very unique voice that is just refreshing especially coming from someone in Hollywood.

The book is compiled with short anecdotes from Kendrick’s like from her young years in Broadway and her years doing obscure indie films and then her life in Hollywood doing bigger films. Furthermore, she talks about what she’s learnt about sex, moving out of home and making friends in a foreign place. The best part of this book was the humour. There were literally parts where I laughed OUT LOUD, which was probably entertaining for whoever was on the train but for me, I didn’t care. Kendrick is genuinely funny, her wit is incredible, especially when she comments on certains events in her life where people have expected differently of her.

tumblr_lj91f1dqgi1qbrwu5o1_500

I loved how Kendrick started young but has kept her humility. How many child actors have become arrogant, stuffed up adults? Sooo many it’s too difficult to keep track of. Kendrick is the minority, even though she was nominated for a Tony and and Academy Award at a young age, she has still remained down to earth. Even better, I could still relate to her, especially her struggle with making new friends which is always one of my worries when I’m in a new environment. She imparts valuable lessons like not to be afraid of enjoying sex as a women and not to be afraid of being alone.

Anyone and everyone will enjoy this memoir. It’s a light, short read that can lift you out of any down-in-the-dumps moment with Kendrick’s unique self-depreciating humour and witty commentary. Scrappy Little Nobody is definitely a must read for anyone needing a pick me up.

Signature

 

 

Leave a Reply

