Discussions

I Miss Reading

What’s taken me by surprise is how difficult it is to return to reading after not picking up a novel for like a month. Suddenly my attention span is 75% shorter. I’ll pick up a book, read a few pages and then go back on my phone scrolling Instagram.

IT’S HORRIBLE. DOWN RIGHT HORRIBLE.

Even if I am enjoying the story, I’ll just simply stop reading. I miss being able to read and read and read non-stop. It’s definitely my phone distracting me but I’ve never had this problem before. I blame it on school and it’s singular aim to torture me upon repair. I love being educated and I fully appreciate the fact that I am able to receive one but I really do appreciate having the time to educate myself – primarily through just reading in my past time. Now, when I rarely enjoy a past time, I want an activity that’s brainless, that doesn’t require too much of an effort because I’m simply so drained from school and studying. Technology in general gives me that whether it’s just scrolling social media, watching TV or cruising Youtube.

I’m trying my best to get back into it, starting with Frankenstein by Mary Shelley because I have to read it for school and then I’m hoping to smash through Things We Promise by J.C Burke. I’m terribly behind with all my review books, the pile is massive and I’m crying not because I don’t want to read them but because I do and I can’t seem to read them fast enough. I’m hoping A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas will get me back into the groove when it releases because I know that it will be gripping and thrilling enough to shove me into the reading zone once more – where I belong.

No wonder I’ve been feeling so. . .disconnected. Even though reading is mainly to disconnect yourself from reality, it seems to do the opposite for me. Sure, I escape dreary ol’ life to have adventures but in the end, it makes me happy in a more genuine way. It was probably also a bad idea to organise so many events during these school holidays for me because now I only have few days to continue some more studying and thus, have less time to read. Less time to read means less blogging and then life just spirals down. Jeez. I can’t wait for high school to end.

Thanks for listening to my rant peeps.

But tell me,

Have you ever struggled to return to reading?

Signature

Leave a Reply

