Blog Tour · Guest Posts

Blog Tour || Girl in Between by Anna Daniels

Girl in Between
Welcome to my stop of the ‘Girl in Between’ blog tour!

I’m so thankful to be hosting a guest post from the author herself. She talks about what she tries to achieve in her novel and the advice she’s followed throughout her life.

Be sure to follow the rest of the tour, it’s a hilarious and relatable story about being at crossroads and finding yourself in the choices you make. Also be sure to keep an eye out for my review of the book! 🙂


About the Book copy

9781760295301 (1)The Girl in Between
by Anna Daniels

Allen & Unwin
Goodreads

RRP: $29.99

Life can be tricky when you’re a girl in between relationships, careers and cities… and sometimes you have to face some uncomfortable truths. The sparkling debut from comic TV and radio presenter, Anna Daniels.

Lucy Crighton has just moved in with some gregarious housemates called Brian and Denise… who are her parents. She’s also the proud mother of Glenda, her beloved 10-year-old… kelpie. And she has absolutely no interest in the dashing son of her parents’ new next-door neighbour… well, maybe just a little.

When you’re the girl in between relationships, careers and cities, you sometimes have to face some uncomfortable truths… like your Mum’s obsession with Cher, your father’s unsolicited advice, and the fact there’s probably more cash on the floor of your parents’ car than in your own bank account.

Thank goodness Lucy’s crazy but wonderful best friend, Rosie, is around to cushion reality, with wild nights at the local Whipcrack hotel, escapades in Japanese mud baths, and double dating under the Christmas lights in London.

But will Lucy work out what she really wants to do in life and who she wants to share it with?

Girl in Between is a warm, upbeat and often hilarious story about life at the crossroads. Featuring an endearing and irrepressible cast of characters, it will have you chuckling from start to finish.


About the Book (1)

Anna Daniels

Anna Daniels has enjoyed great success as a comedic storyteller since kicking off her career by winning the ABC’s ‘Comedy Segment of the Year Award’ for an interview with Russell Crowe. She then went on to co-create the ABC’s first online sketch comedy series ‘Tough at the Top’ with Melbourne comedian, Anne Edmonds. For several years Anna wrote and presented funny upbeat stories for The Project, winning over viewers with her warm, silly, endearing style.

Having grown up in Rockhampton, she particularly championed the stories and characters of rural and regional Australia with affection and humour. As well as The Project, Anna has written, presented and/or produced radio, TV and online content for Queensland Weekender, Red Symons’ Breakfast Show, and the BBC One series, ‘John Bishop’s Australia’. Anna continues to report for The Project and often presents on ABC Radio Brisbane.

SOCIAL MEDIA

Twitter: @annadtweets
Instagram: @annamdaniels
Website: annamdaniels.com


Guest post

Follow the Fun! The best advice I ever received…

By Anna Daniels

In 2009, I was working as a producer on Red Symons Breakfast Program for ABC Melbourne. I’ve produced a lot of different radio shows, but I think producing Red’s was the most fun I’ve ever had!

Red’s fast-paced Brekky slot kept me on my toes, and I adored working with fellow producer Ross Kavanagh every morning as we put the show to air. One of the greatest things about this gig, though, was that I was paid to listen to Red!

Growing up in Rocky, I remember watching Hey, Hey It’s Saturday every week and laughing at Red’s macabre, deadpan expressions as he gonged acts! Sitting in that lounge room as a ten-year-old, I never dreamed I’d be sitting opposite Red twenty years later, still smiling at his antics!

Red is quick-witted yet considered, with a wonderful ability to connect with guests of all ages. We got along well, and I remember one of the best pieces of advice Red gave me was to always, ‘Follow the fun!’

I’ve tried to heed Red’s advice throughout my career, although it has sometimes led me down a few financially precarious slopes! Through all of my different roles, from writing and presenting stories for The Project, to presenting on ABC Radio, and writing comedy for ABC Online, I have had a great deal of fun!

This is what I also wanted to achieve with my debut rom-com, Girl in Between. I hoped to write something fun, and funny, which was very Aussie and which made you laugh! So far, I’ve heard that I’ve been connecting with readers on these levels, so I hope you also enjoy Girl in Between, and the wild adventures of besties Lucy and Rosie, as they follow the fun too!

Anna x


Thanks for stopping by!

Below is an interactive poster, linked to each blog so be sure to follow everyone’s stop! My review of ‘Girl in Between’ will be up in the upcoming week if you’re curious about more of this book’s awesomeness!

//cdn.thinglink.me/jse/embed.js

Signature

Leave a Reply

