Book reviews

BOOK REVIEW: Promise of Shadows by Justina Ireland

Zephyr Mourning has never been very good at being a Harpy. She’d rather watch reality TV than learn forty-seven ways to kill a man, and she pretty much sucks at wielding magic. Zephyr was ready for a future pretending to be a normal human instead of a half-god assassin. But all that changes when her sister is murdered—and she uses a forbidden dark power to save herself from the same fate.

Zephyr is on the run from a punishment worse than death when an unexpected reunion with a childhood friend (a surprisingly HOT friend) changes everything. Because it seems like Zephyr might just be the Nyx, a dark goddess made flesh that is prophesied to change the power balance. For hundreds of years the half-gods have lived in fear, and Zephyr is supposed to change that.

But how is she supposed to save everyone when she can’t even save herself?

Source: Simon and Schuster Australia
371 pages

Untitled design

My Rating:
purple3

I really enjoyed this book. It was a quick, smooth read that swept me away in whatever was going on. But what really drew me was the cover, though. THE COVER IS SO PRETTY. The whole black feathers and the fact that the cover is kind of furry was awesome. Actually, I think half the time I was supposed to be reading, I was actually stroking the book.

Nevertheless, this book was a great, entertaining read filled with a HOT love interest and some awesome mythical politics. This book started quite slow for me. I didn’t know what was going on, I was kind of confused on all the terminology like Vaettir and Aethereal during the beginning of the book. It only struck me halfway through the book what all those words actually meant.

And from there, the book really begun to pick up. Other than that minor confusion, the whole plot of this book was very interesting. This book surrounded Greek mythology and I LOVE Greek Mythology and I have to say that it does that very well. There’s heaps of interesting background information and tangled politics which I found fascinating. Hera is a super bitchy goddess who we all know to be thanks to Percy Jackson and she has a group of minions which kills everyone she wants to be killed. And Hermes kind of a sweet dude who dressed himself extremely well. *wink*

Most of the characters were kind of annoying and bland. The book tried to sustain throughout the novel that Zephyr was a bad-ass character with heaps of power combined with a short temper. Instead, the impression I got was a bratty, doubtful girl who wanted things her way a lot of times. She overreacted over simple situations all the time and the fact that she could only be calmed down by the love interest, Tallon made everything cliched for me.
She was pretty much like this:

Tallon was sweet and HOT (just saying) but I wanted more out his character. I wanted more communication and banter between him and Zephyr and when there was banter, it was either fun or they were snapping at each other.

So, good book. Definitely a book, anyone who love paranormal and Greek Mythology will enjoy. The ending and final epic battle was a bit rushed but despite that, still a satisfying read for anyone who needs to get out of a book hangover.

Signature

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Promise of Shadows by Justina Ireland

  1. I have this one for review too Faith and really looking forward to starting it. When it arrives, I had a quick flick through the first few chapters, and the Greek mythology seems to dominate most of the storyline really, so I’m glad I’ve read the Percy Jackson series, hopefully it’ll help me out along the way to understand the mythology more. Glad you enjoyed it for the most part, despite the cardboard characters. Lovely review ❤ really enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The greek mythology does dominate a lot of it. OOO, cardboard characters that’s a GOOD term. They were exactly like that even it was a good book. Looking forward to your review!

      Like

Leave a comment